Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Rick Riordan and Brian Selznick, author-artist Armand Baltazar introduces Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic, the first in a new science fiction/fantasy series that explores a world painted new by the Time Collision.

You've never seen Earth like this before: continents reshaped, oceans re-formed, cities rebuilt, and mountains sculpted anew. Dinosaurs roam the plains alongside herds of buffalo, and giant robots navigate the same waters as steam-powered ships.

This is the world Diego Ribera was born into. The past, present, and future coexisting together. In New Chicago, Diego's middle school hallways buzz with kids from all eras of history and from cultures all over the world. The pieces do not always fit together neatly, but this is the world he loves.

There are those, however, who do not share his affection. On his 13th birthday, Diego learns of a special gift he has within, a secret that is part of something much bigger - something he cannot understand. When his father, New Chicago's top engineer, is taken by the Aeternum, Diego must rescue him and prevent this evil group from disrupting the fragile peace humanity has forged.

©2017 Armand Baltazar (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don't miss this amazing world!

Armand has created this incredible universe for us to explore. Don't be fooled by Audible's Kids 8-10 rating, it is a good read for all ages. Although it is certainly appropriate for kids, I would tend to push the age range up to mid teen (juvenile fiction).. I think that Audible's rating does not do the book justice. I eagerly await the next installment!
Thanks Armand (and son)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

fantastic

this book was full of imaginative characters. the overall theme of the story was also interesting. the plot was not overly predictable nor was it outlandish. the narrator did a good job at using multiple accents to portray the different characters. overall I would say that this is a must read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really got caught up in the action!

This seemed a bit slow at the beginning, but then I got caught up in a world that combined "Steamers" (people from all ages past), "Midtimers" (people currently alive at the time of the schism, and "Elders" (people from future times). Lucy and Paige join Diego and Petey in their daring quest to save captured family members. They join a band of seafaring pirates and explore untapped talents and discovered a home away from home, a family in the Rangers. It was really gripping the world the author painted, and listening to it on Audible really made the story come alive!