Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.99

Buy for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Seven students trapped in their school after a bomb goes off must fight to survive while also discovering who among them is the bomber in this provocative new thriller from the author of the New York Times best-selling Testing Trilogy. Perfect for fans of This Is Where It Ends.

A congressman's daughter who has to be perfect. A star quarterback with a secret. A guy who's tired of being ignored. A clarinet player who's done trying to fit in. An orphaned rebel who wants to teach someone a lesson. A guy who wants people to see him, not his religion.

They couldn't be more different, but before the morning's over, they'll all be trapped in a school that's been rocked by a bombing. When they hear that someone inside is the bomber, they'll also be looking to one another for answers.

Told from multiple perspectives, Time Bomb will keep listeners guessing about who the bomber could be - and what motivated such drastic action.

©2018 Joelle Charbonneau (P)2018 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Time Bomb

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic book to listen to

Time Bomb was a really good book. It had action but also had a lot of emotion. This really hit home for me and I feel like it would hit home for a lot of other people. In the sense of being bullied and getting hurt but also getting better and learning how to love. This Book was sometimes a little confusing, each chapter switched perspectives so you have to really pay attention and get to know each of the characters. Overall this book really amazed me, I would definitely recommend.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • LW
  • 10-25-19

Not my favorite

I chose to listen to this book because I enjoyed Joelle Charbonneau's "The Testing" series. This book had good potential and I wanted to like it, but I got bored. It starts off promising. The format is to view life from the eyes of a number of high school students. With the title of the book, you assume that one of the students is going to set off a bomb in the school. SPOILER ALERT. And that happens. In the early part of the book the reader is challenged to figure out which student will make that choice. The author does a good job of helping us see the pain in each life. That was a really insightful part of the book that I liked. I find it helpful to challenge stereotypes and this book started out to do that. So bravo for that. However, when the bomb goes off, the scenes after that go on and on and on and on. I couldn't get through them. I wanted to know who did it, and so what. I wanted to get to the end of the story. But I found myself getting bogged down in a lengthy diatribe about rubble and escape plans. Just wasn't my preference so I stopped listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow, BEST BOOK EVER

This book was SOOOO good it’s crazy!! It’s been my favorite book of all times since I read it!! You have to read it, it’s one of the best books I think were ever written!!!! 😄😄

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K. J. Noyes
  • K. J. Noyes
  • 03-21-18

The Breakfast Club with bombs...?

Any additional comments?

It really is a bit like that. A group of disparate high school students, each disgruntled in their own ways, are forced to bond in school in an unusual situation, revealing their secrets slowly until commonalities and comradeships are formed. Except it's not in detention (or with Simple Minds playing). A bomb has been detonated at their school. And most likely - by one of them.

Yes, this got my attention when I saw the synopsis. Of course it did. A mystery alongside adolescent angst. I quite liked NEED last year, a fantastic concept, and this also moves along between characters quickly giving you a feel for each potential 'assailant' (though on audiobook, this took a while to straighten out in my head) and gets to the meat of the plot quickly.

The bomb scene itself is well done, I thought this worked well on audiobook as the narration flits from one student to another through the course of the day.

Each character is given a roughly equal amount of time, they each air their problems and lives, stereotypes are dealt with (yes there's a Muslim student who is a possible bomber), and we are left to work out who the actual perpetrator is and why.

And it's a great ending! I liked the fact that it didn't conform to the usual, and did bring surprises. Some great character work here, with a variety of pertinent issues for readers to identify with.

Considering this is narrated by one female, the voices came across quite naturally as I think back, nothing forced about the males' voices. It flowed well and though it was hard to start with keeping account of each storyline/character, this eased up as the voices separated them out.

One for ages 13 and above, with warnings on the violent nature of the plot.


With thanks to Nudge Books for the sample copy through Audible, provided for an honest review.