• This Is How We Fly

  • By: Anna Meriano
  • Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
  • Length: 12 hrs and 7 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
This Is How We Fly  By  cover art

This Is How We Fly

By: Anna Meriano
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Truly enchanting." (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)

A loose retelling of Cinderella, about a high-school graduate who - after getting grounded for the whole summer - joins a local Quidditch league and finds her footing, perfect for fans of Dumplin', Fangirl, and everyone who's read and adored Harry Potter.

Seventeen-year-old vegan feminist Ellen Lopez-Rourke has one muggy Houston summer left before college. She plans to spend every last moment with her two best friends before they go off to the opposite ends of Texas for school. But when Ellen is grounded for the entire summer by her (sometimes) evil stepmother, all her plans are thrown out the window. 

Determined to do something with her time, Ellen (with the help of BFF Melissa) convinces her parents to let her join the local muggle Quidditch team. An all-gender, full-contact game, Quidditch isn't quite what Ellen expects. There's no flying, no magic, just a bunch of scrappy players holding PVC pipe between their legs and throwing dodgeballs. Suddenly Ellen is thrown into the very different world of sports: Her life is all practices, training, and running with a group of Harry Potter fans. 

Even as Melissa pulls away to pursue new relationships and their other BFF Xiumiao seems more interested in moving on from high school (and from Ellen), Ellen is steadily finding a place among her teammates. Maybe Quidditch is where she belongs. 

But with her home life and friend troubles quickly spinning out of control - Ellen must fight for the future that she wants; now she's playing for keeps. 

Filled with heart and humor, Anna Meriano's YA debut is perfect for fans of Dumplin' and Hot Dog Girl

Praise for This Is How We Fly:

"Readers will find much to appreciate about Ellen's fresh, relatable journey to define herself on her own terms." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"A timely coming-of-age story with a unique Quidditch twist." (School Library Journal)

“Anna Meriano’s This Is How We Fly is a delightful treat of a book that will make you want to grab your broom and go! A story of a young woman at a crossroads summer, this tale tackles the growing pains of late adolescence - family struggles, changing friendships, new crushes - with so much grace and heart. See you on the pitch!” (Jennifer Mathieu, author of The Liars of Mariposa Island and Moxie)

This Is How We Fly breathes new life into a sport and retelling we think we know and lets them bake beneath the Texas sun. Anna Meriano has written one of the most authentic teen voice I’ve read in years.” (Nina Moreno, author of Don’t Date Rosa Santos)

This Is How We Fly is, at its heart, about fierce friendships, flirty beaters, and firsts. Anna Meriano takes the magical fairytale of Cinderella and gives it a bookish twist. Ellen is an existential crisis on a broom and I love her.” (Ashley Poston, national best-selling author of Geekerella)

“Meriano adeptly weaves questions of identity, friendship, and family into this delightful summer tale about the thrilling world of club Quidditch. At times both hilarious and heartbreaking, this incredible story is sure to leave you flying high.” (Jennifer Dugan, author of Hot Dog Girl and Verona Comics)

©2020 Anna Meriano (P)2020 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Meriano’s novel is a layered, skillful work that thoughtfully explores the complicated dynamics of a family in conflict due to divergent views of the world. . . .This clever, subtle reimagining of a beloved fairy tale is both subversive and empowering. Truly enchanting." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 

"Through a conversational first-person voice that firmly grounds the reader in the main character’s inner tumult, Meriano portrays Ellen’s heightened awareness and dedication to social equity and inclusion alongside the timeless sense of unease that comes with new beginnings and major change. Readers will find much to appreciate about Ellen’s fresh, relatable journey to define herself on her own terms." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 

"A timely coming-of-age story with a unique Quidditch twist." —School Library Journal

What listeners say about This Is How We Fly

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is quidditch

I love how this book was written. It’s very obviously a book written by a person who played Quidditch for people who play Quidditch. Though it’s not perfect, it felt like should’ve come out in 2014 rather than 2020.

But this book is about a kid who finds a sport they like, and is dealing with really hard/complicated family dynamics. Something incredibly relatable for someone who’s been through that. Though the main character can be a little annoying at times especially (in the beginning). I wish I had this book before going to uni.

Though quidditch has changed a lot since this book was written. The sport quidditch is going through a rebranding (it’s called quadball now) so they can get more deals as a sport, but as to distance themselves from JKR. Who has a lot of things that hurt the trans community. And Quidditch is a sport that openly welcomes trans and nonbinary athletes, since a co-ed sport. Which is highlighted and talked about in this book. This book highlights a lot of what makes quidditch one if the best sports ever. And I love it for that.

I will definitely recommend this to any potterhead who actually would wanna understand the love for the sport quidditch/quadball. Or to anyone who plays quidditch/quadball.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

selectivly woke

I'm not completely sure my feelings on this. The author basically promotes child abuse and abandonedment of the main character but attempts to sound so woke to the current perspectives on gender and sexuality when it fits her perspective with a heavy dash of sexism. It's weird and there's not much balance. Additionally she craps on JK Rowling, the author/creator of Harry Potter and the whole concept of quiddich. Not real appropriate if that's the whole baseline of the book. But then again its currently the woke thing to do.