Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

Thick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen's Thief. New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queen's Thief, this epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companion stories The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©2017 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worthy addition to Attolia series

I've been waiting for this book for years, and Turner didn't disappoint. I adore this series, and have from the very first book, and this was a great addition. I loved that Kamet was the main character in this book; we got to see a little of him in The Queen of Attolia, and he was such an interesting side character. He made an even more interesting main character. It was also fun to see "the Attolian" as a side character versus a main character, to see him through someone else's eyes, similar to how we got to see Eugenides through Costis's eyes in The King of Attolia. It's always fun to see someone misjudge a character you know so well, but also find out things about that character you didn't when everything was in their perspective. I loved the twists and turns of the plot, the never-ending journey through the Mede Empire, the surprises at the end (similar to the surprises we always get at the end of these books), all the bumps in the road, and Eugenides. Always Eugenides.

I was also pleasantly surprised by Steve West's narration. I had a strong prejudice going in because I love Jeff Woodman's narration of the first four books so much, but West was lovely. He has such a pleasant voice, and he really nailed the subtle humor and bantering and tones Turner always includes. I'm reserving judgment about his narrations for the rest of the series until I can listen, but I'm hopeful rather than disgruntled now. If only Audible offered both narrators' versions; I'd really dig that.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love the series

Just wish each book was longer. The story, like the others, does not disappoint with clever characters, plot twists and reveals.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Awesome!

I love Megan Whalen Turner's books. The narration by Steve West was fantastic and I'm so excited that they are finally available in audible form!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Badly botched production. Bring back Jeff Woodman.

First, I'm a long-time fan of Whalen-Turner's books. I have listened and re-listened to the first four in this series in the Jeff Woodman recordings, and they are excellent. Fortunately, I still have them on CD.

The current production is such a disappointment. In descriptive/exposition narrative, West apparently never met a phrase he couldn't break up into disconnected little bits. In dialog, he puts the emphasis on the wrong word(s) in the sentence more than half the time.

He seems incapable of ending a question with an upward inflection (you know, like it's kind of a question).

But the worst problem by far is an error I still can't believe got past the producers. In first-person narrative, the voice of the narrator should be the same as the voice of the character in dialog. But West uses a completely different voice for the slave's thoughts and observations than he does for the slave's dialog. To make matters more distracting--and at times downright confusing--the voice he uses for the slave's narrative is actually identical to the dialog voice of the Attolian (the character he is most open speaking *to*).

This is not a mistake Jeff Woodman would have made. And in the previous four books in the series, Woodman consistently understands and expresses the nuances and tone that fit both the narrative and dialog of the story.

If these were second-rate books, I wouldn't care. But Whalen-Turner's work deserves better. This recording is tragic.
For those new to the series, you can still get books 1-4 on CD at Amazon in the Jeff Woodman recordings. Better off with your local library, though, since the CDs are expensive.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST EVER

I'm telling you I really don't care who read it, this story can not be hurt by a pad performance! (and it really wasn't so bad). BUT I love Turner and her Queens thief series! one of the best lines in the WHOLE book is "I punched my king in the face". I don't know how she gets you to love so many characters so deeply, but by golly, I LOVE Gen and Costis and Kamet...and Costis. its witty, intelligent and HILLARIOUS. Her world is something you end up craving.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Megan Whalen Turner

This book is amazing and a great addition to the series, can't wait for the next installment this March. This is by far my favorite series and one of the better books in the series. Thank you MWT.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Thick and Thieves

incredible talent and fantastic performance of Steve West kept me listening to this bland story. Steve West is Brilliant. author was damn lucky to have him narrate the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Whole Series

I love Steve West's narration for this entire series! He narrates completely different characters and points of view in each book, but manages to keep them all distinct and filled with emotion.

I'm biased because I've loved this series since I was a kid, but these audiobooks have given me a new look into the nuances of each book. Even if you've already read the print versions, I highly recommend treating yourself to the audiobooks. The narration adds a lot, especially the sections where the characters themselves are telling stories to each other.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good.

This was my introduction to Audible and audio books, in general. The newest addition to one of my favorite series (The Queen's Thief), it did not disappoint. I think I'll review the entire series on Audible!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A favorite

A book by my favorite author. I waited 7 years for it and the wait was rewarded. Just read it, if you haven't read the books that come before it first; if it had been a while, at the very least reread books 2&3. I preferred reading this book to listening. I didn't love the narration; it is good, but not great. I did think it better than the narration of the third book by the same narrator (I think). Maybe my not loving the narration (of book 3) was just a case of having read it so many times and the narration being different than how it is in my head.