adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Discover and rediscover the world of the Queen's Thief, from the acclaimed series launch The Thief to the thrilling, 20-years-in-the-making conclusion, The Return of the Thief.

Thick as Thieves is the fifth novel set in the world of the Queen's Thief. New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 

Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queen's Thief, this epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award.

©2017 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Thick as Thieves

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    446
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    427
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    404
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worthy addition to Attolia series

I've been waiting for this book for years, and Turner didn't disappoint. I adore this series, and have from the very first book, and this was a great addition. I loved that Kamet was the main character in this book; we got to see a little of him in The Queen of Attolia, and he was such an interesting side character. He made an even more interesting main character. It was also fun to see "the Attolian" as a side character versus a main character, to see him through someone else's eyes, similar to how we got to see Eugenides through Costis's eyes in The King of Attolia. It's always fun to see someone misjudge a character you know so well, but also find out things about that character you didn't when everything was in their perspective. I loved the twists and turns of the plot, the never-ending journey through the Mede Empire, the surprises at the end (similar to the surprises we always get at the end of these books), all the bumps in the road, and Eugenides. Always Eugenides.

I was also pleasantly surprised by Steve West's narration. I had a strong prejudice going in because I love Jeff Woodman's narration of the first four books so much, but West was lovely. He has such a pleasant voice, and he really nailed the subtle humor and bantering and tones Turner always includes. I'm reserving judgment about his narrations for the rest of the series until I can listen, but I'm hopeful rather than disgruntled now. If only Audible offered both narrators' versions; I'd really dig that.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Badly botched production. Bring back Jeff Woodman.

First, I'm a long-time fan of Whalen-Turner's books. I have listened and re-listened to the first four in this series in the Jeff Woodman recordings, and they are excellent. Fortunately, I still have them on CD.

The current production is such a disappointment. In descriptive/exposition narrative, West apparently never met a phrase he couldn't break up into disconnected little bits. In dialog, he puts the emphasis on the wrong word(s) in the sentence more than half the time.

He seems incapable of ending a question with an upward inflection (you know, like it's kind of a question).

But the worst problem by far is an error I still can't believe got past the producers. In first-person narrative, the voice of the narrator should be the same as the voice of the character in dialog. But West uses a completely different voice for the slave's thoughts and observations than he does for the slave's dialog. To make matters more distracting--and at times downright confusing--the voice he uses for the slave's narrative is actually identical to the dialog voice of the Attolian (the character he is most open speaking *to*).

This is not a mistake Jeff Woodman would have made. And in the previous four books in the series, Woodman consistently understands and expresses the nuances and tone that fit both the narrative and dialog of the story.

If these were second-rate books, I wouldn't care. But Whalen-Turner's work deserves better. This recording is tragic.
For those new to the series, you can still get books 1-4 on CD at Amazon in the Jeff Woodman recordings. Better off with your local library, though, since the CDs are expensive.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just When I Think I've Got It

I know that Megan is trying to trip me up, so I have to look for all the clues. I'm still surprised!! I was able to pick-up on more of the clues this time, but it was delightful to get the big reveal and be told everything I missed. On to the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

No epilogue in this recording.

This recording is missing the epilogue, though the book is well written and well read. It feels like it diverges from the central story, but it is tied in at the end. I definitely enjoyed the book overall.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit disappointed

this was my first time reading the fifth book in the queens theif novels. I am beginning to wonder if the story will ever get centered on Gen again. We got the first two books with him as the main character, one as a side character, and two as a backround character. And sadly the latest MC was the not the most compelling or interesting character to follow. And the cadance or forms used to tell the history or stories by the MC were a pain to listen to. If I had a physical copy I'd probably have thought it was a typo or misprint. Honestly it wasn't until the last four chapters or so before I felt the story was finally becoming interesting. GL on the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story;Not as beloved as others in the series

3/5; 3 stars; B-

This was another adventure story, told mostly on the road, like "The Thief". However, this one didn't catch and hold my interest quite so well as The Thief. I think the 'road' part went on a bit too long and the story would have been stronger if they characters had spent more time in Attolia.

Still, Steve West did another great job narrating the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love the series

Just wish each book was longer. The story, like the others, does not disappoint with clever characters, plot twists and reveals.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Awesome!

I love Megan Whalen Turner's books. The narration by Steve West was fantastic and I'm so excited that they are finally available in audible form!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I did not finish the book because it did not hold my interest. I wanted some thing different right now in my life

I did not finish the book. It was not very interesting to me right now

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

once again a fantastic series, please buy this one

this is an amazing series for young adults and full blown elderly alike. they're always good