1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The World Gives Way  By  cover art

The World Gives Way

By: Marissa Levien
Narrated by: Christine Lakin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a near-future world on the brink of collapse, a young woman born into servitude must seize her own freedom in this glittering debut with a brilliant twist—perfect for fans of Station Eleven, Karen Thompson Walker, and Naomi Alderman.

In fifty years, Myrra will be free.

Until then, she's a contract worker. Ever since she was five, her life and labor have belonged to the highest bidder on her contract—butchers, laundries, and now the powerful, secretive Carlyles.

But when one night finds the Carlyles dead, Myrra is suddenly free a lot sooner than she anticipated—and at a cost she never could have imagined. Burdened with the Carlyles' orphaned daughter and the terrible secret they died to escape, she runs. With time running out, Myrra must come face to face with the truth about her world—and embrace what's left before it's too late.

A sweeping novel with a darkly glimmering heart, The World Gives Way is an unforgettable portrait of a world in freefall, and the fierce drive to live even at the end of it all.

A New York Times Best Sci-Fi and Fantasy Novel of 2021

A Fortune Magazine Best Book of 2021

"A staggering marvel."—The New York Times

"The World Gives Way has a sweeping world rich in lore and an electric plot."—Brandon Taylor, Booker Prize-nominated author of Real Life

©2021 Marissa Levien (P)2021 Redhook

More from the same

What listeners say about The World Gives Way

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique story very well written

I sat without continuing the work in my hands when the book ended- maybe 30 sec to a minute. The story line is rich because the author pays attention to description of detail and believability of dialogue. Even though the story should feel outlandish, it felt entirely realistic. The narrator also helped the story feel realistic- she has a matter of fact way about her voice and inflection at just the right place. Glad I picked this one up!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Put this Debut on your list

PUT THIS DEBUT ON YOUR TBR!

How would you spend the weeks leading up to the end of the world? Marissa brilliantly tackles this question in 🌎The World Gives Way🌎

Thanks to #Netgalley and #Redhookbooks for the eARC of #TheWorldGivesWay (opinions are my own)!

Myrra, a contract laborer, finds out information about the spaceship she and the rest of humanity is on. She ends up on the run with baby Charlotte, trying to evade Agent Tobias and the information she learned.

This was part police procedural, part apocalyptic, part science fiction, part literary fiction, part love story and part examination of humanity’s drive to survive and finding out what really matters.

all the stars 🤩 I loved both POV characters, it was so well paced and finding out about the world within the ship was so cool. I’ll be on the lookout for whatever Marissa Levien puts out next.

Also the narrator was fantastic!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

great story, awful ending

Beautifully written and engaging but it really sucks when a page turning book has a flat ending. Otherwise it would have been fantastic.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A new take on interplanetary diaspora

Terra dies and a monstrous ship is sent towards a new solar system to develop a new home for humanity but hundreds of years into the trip a major failure starts to develop in the ship. This Is a a story of how a few people cope with that time. One a young indentured servant. The other the son of two cons who becomes a security officer.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holy wow, this book

The narrator is excellent and this story is fantastic. I am so moved. Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

With a bang and a whimper

The world Marissa has built is beautiful and heart wrenching. It clearly is a metaphor for the world we are living in, while simultaneously reading as though it’s a prophecy about our inevitable future. The characters are compelling, and their journey kept me on the edge of my seat. Powerful work.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not the best of the genre

I think that this book had plot potential, but ultimately I felt it was a let-down. The pacing was off, the characters remained, at best, largely one-dimensional, and at worst unsympathetic. Some are completely over-the-top caricatures with no depth at all. It took far too long to bring the two leads together, but then they bond more or less instantly. There are some interesting bits here and there, but far too much "meh" in between. Adolescent dialogue doesn't help (several times the characters mention wanting to slap themselves in the face to wake themselves up, and at one point, a character does just that. Really? You're in a fight, you're woozy and bleeding and that is the best thing you can come up with? This may work in comics, but not so much in a novel.) The infant in the story is mentioned as having grown a lot, from not even crawling to trying to walk, but the entire story takes place in a matter of weeks. These things and a lot of other inconsistencies improbabilities, and outright plot-holes just kept popping me right out of the story, and by the end I was only happy it was over.

If you're looking for an interesting YA dystopian read, skip this one. There are many far better to choose from.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok. Some of the characters felt like caricatures

This book was ok, but I wouldn't really recommend it. The sci fi setting is just a backdrop and is not believable or explained very much. Instead, the book focuses on how people respond in an apocalyptic situation. While it is an interesting premise and there are some cool outlandish images, I would have preferred if the author had gone into the background of the story a bit more.

That being said, the main issue I had with this book is that some of the characters just felt like over the top liberal caricatures. It was very, very easy to identify the authors political leanings.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent dystopian read

Loved the story and the narrator, too. A dystopian read that was just sci-fi enough to provide space from our current state of the world.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sudden ending

The ending was too sudden. How did they die? Is there a book two. Please.