The Wife Between Us

Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
4 out of 5 stars (51 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Now a New York Times top 10 best seller.

When you listen to this book, you will make many assumptions.

It's about a jealous wife, obsessed with her replacement.

It's about a younger woman set to marry the man she loves.

The first wife seems like a disaster; her replacement is the perfect woman.

You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.

You will be wrong.

The Wife Between Us is the first collaboration between Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen; a gripping thriller with film rights sold to the creators of The Girl On the Train.

©2018 Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen (P)2018 Macmillan Digital Audio

Critic Reviews

"A fiendishly clever thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." (Anita Shreve, author of The Stars are Fire)
"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters." (Lauren Weisberger, New York Times best-selling author of The Devil Wears Prada)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Shitty book

I listen it for 3 hours and I wanted to shoot myself. Its full of clishé
Dont waste your time on this shit.
This is a book for non readers.
If you a want to listen to a good book with a similar plot buy The girl on the train.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

twisted pleasure

loved it. a twisted and interesting plot. held my attention to the end. highy recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don’t Read the review read the book

So I read the reviews and ended up trying to predict what the other readers were taking about. The story is brilliant so don’t worry . Don’t bother with the reviews; they give away all the good stuff. Don’t spoil it for yourself.
it’s worth the read!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!

I LOVED this book! There were so many twists and turns and I never saw a single one coming. I thought I knew where the story was going but around every corner was another surprise! The narrators were a fantastic fit. Great story, I would definitely read other books by this author. Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic thriller

kept me hooked to the very end., loads of twists and turns...A must listen to book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Lots of twists

There are a few twists and turns but easy listening. I nearly missed out on the epilogue which was another twist. Loved it. My daughter recommended it. Thanks Zoe

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janet biglari
  • Janet biglari
  • 02-12-18

Stunning Edge of The Seat Thriller

I absolutely loved this book and could not stop listening to it. There were so many twists none of which I anticipated and the final twist was a real surprise. This book was so well written the characters well defined and the dialogue sharp and interesting. I also enjoyed the narrator and felt she brought real life to the characters. I cannot wait for the next book from these authors.

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for the peters
  • the peters
  • 02-04-18

Gripping

This had me hooked I loved it. My first ever audio novel, took getting used to but enjoyed it. It was intense, well written, well narrated.

32 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel
  • Rachel
  • 02-28-18

Very Clever

This is the kind of book you just can’t stop listening to. Very gripping story from the start and then a great twist in the middle that sets the tone for the rest of the book. The twists don’t end there either! Really enjoyable!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Felicity
  • Felicity
  • 02-27-18

Fairly predictable

Very similar storyline to another book; ‘the last Mrs. Parish’, but not quite as good. I found it very predictable

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aimee Knight
  • Aimee Knight
  • 03-23-18

Pretty boring!

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The narrator was ok, but the story lacked any real pull. I found it very boring, wouldn't recommend.

Has The Wife Between Us put you off other books in this genre?

no

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LM
  • LM
  • 10-03-18

I do not recommend

What a boring book! I honestly don’t recommend it, all that back ground and there was no big ‘gone girl’ moment like described. Save yourself the time and money, don’t buy this!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-22-18

I expected a bit more

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No. Having read the reviews I expected a huge twist at the end. Yes there was a twist (but you have to wait until the epilogue). I was disappointed

Did Julia Whelan do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

No great difference between all male and female character voices

Did The Wife Between Us inspire you to do anything?

NO

Any additional comments?

It was an OK read but didn't have be gripped until the end as some of the write ups suggested it would

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David G
  • David G
  • 10-02-18

OK. But could be shorter

I can't remember where I came across this audiobook. It is ok, but nothing more than that. I like reading or listening to the end of a story so I rarely stop. I found that this book went round and round in circles and often I wasn't sure who the current character was, which was infuriating. Overall would I recommend? Sorry, no I wouldn't.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiffany
  • Tiffany
  • 08-12-18

Decent story, annoying narrator

This book is so similar to Girl on a Train, I wondered if there was a sniff of plagiarism. By the end there's more of a distinction between the two, but during the set up, I was shocked with the similarities. I enjoyed the story and got into it, although it was somewhat predictable at times. The female narrator made me cringe when she tried to do a man's voice however.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-29-18

Terrible Book

hardly managed to finish this . absolutely awful. the characters are totally unrealistic. the only saving grace are the twists

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny Harvey
  • Jenny Harvey
  • 03-27-18

Suspenceful

Fantastic book. Couldn't stop reading it. Draws you in to a world of suspence. A world of webs

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine
  • Christine
  • 04-19-18

Great story

really good story, worth listening too. Excellent narration as well, would buy another from this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-13-18

4 stars

a male voice would have been realistic and made the listening more emjoyable. good story

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Connor
  • J Connor
  • 01-26-20

I loved this thrilling book

Just adore this narrator. Author takes you through all the feelings and describes details one needs to enjoy a good book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LYNNE CEPROW
  • LYNNE CEPROW
  • 01-07-20

Fabulous.

I throughly enjoyed this book... I listened to it twice and found I had missed a few important points... will read more by these two authors.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mandy
  • Mandy
  • 12-16-19

Not the best

Found this book very repetitive. Didn't enjoy. Wouldn't recommend this read. Not sure if I would purchase another book by these authors.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for miffany Callan
  • miffany Callan
  • 11-02-19

Twists and turns with every chapter

A book that keeps you guessing to the very end. Each chapter reveals yet another twist. What you think you know and guess is not even close. Gripping and enjoyable.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mel83
  • Mel83
  • 10-02-19

Worth reading!

I was unsure at the beginning but really enjoyed listening to this story. I loved the twist at the end.
Worth reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pauline Edwards
  • Pauline Edwards
  • 08-30-19

Top book!

Loved the twist, the story and the narrator. I would like more by these 2 authors.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emmerson92
  • Emmerson92
  • 08-14-19

Twist after twist

Amazing book!

Very clever and unpredictable

Much better than I expected, I can’t wait to read the rest from these authors!!