adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"The Nazis are everywhere now. We must leave Vienna. It might be that soon our letters won’t get out anymore. Can you help, dear sister? Please, ask for us. Send news, and quickly. Please."

London, 1938. Sixteen-year-old Natalie Leeman makes the heartbreaking decision to leave her family behind in Vienna and travel to England to join her cousin Leah in service. Natalie is placed with a wealthy suburban family, the Caplins, as a nanny to their energetic six-year-old.

At first, Natalie is delighted by the huge house and beautiful gardens, but things aren’t as perfect as they seem. While Natalie dotes on their child, she is increasingly wary of Mr. Caplin, whose gruff manor and fascist politics scare her. And then there are those still waiting at home - Mama and her two sisters, as well as a blossoming romance with her English tutor that had only just begun.

But when Vienna falls under Nazi rule, Natalie begins to fear for her family, especially her vivacious, tomboy little sister Libby. Then rumors of a possible escape route from mainland Europe called the kindertransport begin to swirl - can Natalie help her family escape the Nazis before it’s too late?

Perfect for fans of The Alice Network, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, and Before We Were Yours. 

©2020 Lizzie Page (P)2020 Bookouture

Critic Reviews

"I adore Lizzie Page’s writing and the way she so brilliantly blends fact and fiction." (Jill Mansell, best-selling author) 

What listeners say about The Wartime Nanny

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cherub 37
  • Cherub 37
  • 02-12-21

Different Wartime Book...

I have read several books set during the holocaust , but this is a book is from an entirely different perspective to what I have read before.
Right from the first chapter you cannot help but fall in love with Natalie on her move to London as she gets to grips with the English ways and language. I feel this contrast of slight humour to the darkness during this heartbreaking time nicely balanced out the novel. I found myself rooting for Natalie and her family through out and despite knowing the inevitable was to come I still found myself surprised.

I look forward to reading more from this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicola
  • Nicola
  • 01-31-21

review of the war time Nanny

absolutely fantastic story especially if you work as a Nanny and are interested in the war