Your audiobook is waiting…

The War Nurses: A Moving Wartime Romance Saga Full of Heart

The War Nurses Series
Narrated by: Marian Hussey
Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
4 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

Regular price: $24.95

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

You will love every moment of this absolutely brilliant wartime saga, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Soraya M. Lane, and Nadine Dorries. 

As war takes its toll, the love and care of two brave young nurses become everything to the wounded soldiers they tend... 

1914. Two plucky young nurses pledge to help the war effort: Mairi, a wholesome idealist hoping to leave behind her past and Elsie, a glamorous single mother with a weakness for handsome soldiers. Despite their differences, the pair become firm friends.  

At the emergency medical shelter where they're based, Elsie and Mairi work around the clock to treat wounded soldiers. It's heart-breaking work and they are at constant risk from shelling, fire, and disease. Occasionally there are happier times...parties, trips, and letters. And maybe even the possibility of love with an attractive officer in their care...

But as the war continues and the stress of duty threatens to pull the two women apart, will Elsie and Mairi's special nurses' bond be strong enough to see them through?  

Based on a true story, Mairi and Elsie's devotion and bravery will make you smile and cry. You won't want to put it down!

©2018 Lizzie Page (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TKIRK
  • 01-17-19

A good read & a great listen - very moving

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and want to thank the author & narrator. It is quite moving - well constructed - great characterisations - good history. The narrator's 'voic