Your audiobook is waiting…

The Unmapped Sea

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 5
Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 9 hrs and 20 mins
Categories: Kids, Ages 8-10
5 out of 5 stars (432 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way he's sure about one thing: The wolfish curse on his family must end soon, before the child is born. Penelope willingly takes on the challenge; when Lady Constance's doctor prescribes a seaside holiday, Penelope jumps at the chance to take the three Incorrigible children to Brighton, where she hopes to persuade the old sailor Pudge to reveal what he knows about the Ashton curse.

But the Ashtons are not the only ones at the beach in January. The passionately temperamental Babushkinov family is also taking the winter waters. The Incorrigible children may have been raised by wolves, but the Babushkinov children are the wildest creatures they've ever seen. Is it more than mere coincidence that these untamed children have turned up in Brighton just as Penelope and the Incorrigibles arrive?

©2015 Maryrose Wood (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    344
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    349
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    309
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 12-13-17

Cliffhanger ending; last book release 6/19/2018!

For those who are listening to this series, I recommend that you wait until closer to the June 19, 2018 release of the series finale due to the cliffhanger finish of Book V. I wish I had!

I love this audio book series and recommend it for everyone ages 4 to 110. The series is fabulous! The narration, more precisely the performance, is by Katherine Kellgren who is without peer in the performance of audio books. Both author Maryrose Wood and narrator Katherine Kellgren are Americans, but the series is set in Victorian England and the narration is with English accents.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story is great - voice gets a bit screechy at times.

We love the story and will listen to the last book. At times though the voice is screechy for so long that we have to take a break. If we could change that one thing we would have devoured the book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another AMAZING story

What did you love best about The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V?

Great continuation of the series, wonderful characters and excellent humor

What does Katherine Kellgren bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Oh MY! I have never heard a reader like Katherine Kellgren! She brings life and a fullness to the characters that makes me feel as if I am right inside the story.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both!

Any additional comments?

Another AMAZING story - looking forward to the next one

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too much squelch, not enough story

The sound screeches loud, then quiet CONSTANTLY. Even in the car, with the volume control in easy reach, it is incredibly annoying to have to turn the volume down and up over and over for hours on end. Five books into this series and not enough has happened. Excessive, useless details do not make for a story, only for too many pages to plod through before getting a nugget of story. I regret the hours we spent with annoying uneven sound engineering.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A change...

The only performance issue was Margaret's voice in the beginning is so high and squeaky it's ear piercing. Other than that change, great work!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joy Lewis
  • Menasha, WI United States
  • 04-30-15

Surprises

I can't believe the ending. The series has been full of twists and turns but I was shocked by the way this book ended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

This series is wonderful! Interesting and very entertaining. I will be sorry when the series is over but know I will listen to the whole thing over again one day with my kids.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love

The best reader the best book ever loved it so much sad ending can’t wait to read the next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Like thus series a lot!

So sad the series is almost over. I enjoy these books so much! Looking forward to the next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

i almost wish i was def

I like the series and read the first few but started listening to this book and it really hurts your ears! Ive never heard any one with a voice like some of her characters but the screeching high pitched voice. id avoid any one with a voice like that no matter who it was.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-10-18

excellent

My kids say that this is their favourite set of books we have read this year (and we read a lot)
May be a bit scary for kids under 7 years old to listen to on their own.
This series of book is read by the most amazingly tallented woman.
Well done.