1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way he's sure about one thing: The wolfish curse on his family must end soon, before the child is born. Penelope willingly takes on the challenge; when Lady Constance's doctor prescribes a seaside holiday, Penelope jumps at the chance to take the three Incorrigible children to Brighton, where she hopes to persuade the old sailor Pudge to reveal what he knows about the Ashton curse.

But the Ashtons are not the only ones at the beach in January. The passionately temperamental Babushkinov family is also taking the winter waters. The Incorrigible children may have been raised by wolves, but the Babushkinov children are the wildest creatures they've ever seen. Is it more than mere coincidence that these untamed children have turned up in Brighton just as Penelope and the Incorrigibles arrive?

©2015 Maryrose Wood (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Unmapped Sea

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    468
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    444
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    401
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cliffhanger ending; last book release 6/19/2018!

For those who are listening to this series, I recommend that you wait until closer to the June 19, 2018 release of the series finale due to the cliffhanger finish of Book V. I wish I had!

I love this audio book series and recommend it for everyone ages 4 to 110. The series is fabulous! The narration, more precisely the performance, is by Katherine Kellgren who is without peer in the performance of audio books. Both author Maryrose Wood and narrator Katherine Kellgren are Americans, but the series is set in Victorian England and the narration is with English accents.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another AMAZING story

What did you love best about The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V?

Great continuation of the series, wonderful characters and excellent humor

What does Katherine Kellgren bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Oh MY! I have never heard a reader like Katherine Kellgren! She brings life and a fullness to the characters that makes me feel as if I am right inside the story.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both!

Any additional comments?

Another AMAZING story - looking forward to the next one

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story is great - voice gets a bit screechy at times.

We love the story and will listen to the last book. At times though the voice is screechy for so long that we have to take a break. If we could change that one thing we would have devoured the book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too much squelch, not enough story

The sound screeches loud, then quiet CONSTANTLY. Even in the car, with the volume control in easy reach, it is incredibly annoying to have to turn the volume down and up over and over for hours on end. Five books into this series and not enough has happened. Excessive, useless details do not make for a story, only for too many pages to plod through before getting a nugget of story. I regret the hours we spent with annoying uneven sound engineering.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A change...

The only performance issue was Margaret's voice in the beginning is so high and squeaky it's ear piercing. Other than that change, great work!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprises

I can't believe the ending. The series has been full of twists and turns but I was shocked by the way this book ended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it!

The writing not to mention the flawless narration is certainly among the funniest I've ever heard/read. Katherine Kellgren's presence a narrator will be sorely missed. Striking the perfect matter of fact t tone through such reflections as: "Hard-hearted people may be no fun to sit next to at parties, but they are just as entitled to earn a living as the rest of us. Fortunately-for them, at least-the need for insurance adjusters, tax collectors, theater critics, and the like continues to this very day." She could even SING well! She has got to be killing it in Heaven.

And then high melodrama: Penelope's closing speech rivals Scarlett O'hara's "With God as my witness, I'll never go hungry again!" speech. The music swells and the laughter as well.

I will read six, but I will miss Katherine. I've heard her replacement does a great job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

Yet another great book in this series. I am so glad I started this series last summer. This book 5 was by far one of the best in the series. I am so anxious to read the final book and see how it will finish the tale of the three wolf children, Penelope and Simone.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it I am vida

It WBA’s sum
Ok lolo
Yes please I love you nutsuwoo
You to lumper hmm

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????

I was so sad at the ending of this story but I'm so glad that there is another book if there was not I would be the saddest person who ever lived ☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️😤😤. Don't get me wrong I loved this book (aka Simon and Penelope ❤️💕♥️😍)I dislike Edmund Ashton the most but the ummmmm the babushkenufs ( yes yes I don't know how to spell it)but I did not like them although the part about "the sea shell of love" was quite interesting and amusing 😆. Please read this book even if it ends sadly I will be very sorry if you don't. You will find it wonderful until the sad ending I hope I did not just change your mind on reading it because you will be missing out on a lot.......Hopefully you enjoy this book to the end!!!!!!!!!! - one of the seven!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-13-22

Riveting

loved it.
The story started a bit too slow, but picked up and got better.
Narration was well done!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for newmum
  • newmum
  • 10-14-21

Cool gnarly

I loved every bit of it amazing utterly amazing great twists amazing twists so cool I’ve been urging for the next book for ages now I just need a new credit and then I can get the final book it’s amazing this Victorian mystery series is amazing there’s only one answer to this and it’s amazing yeah

Amelia

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-10-18

excellent

My kids say that this is their favourite set of books we have read this year (and we read a lot)
May be a bit scary for kids under 7 years old to listen to on their own.
This series of book is read by the most amazingly tallented woman.
Well done.