Your audiobook is waiting…

The Tenderness of Wolves

Narrated by: Adam Sims, Sally Armstrong
Length: 14 hrs and 59 mins
4 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

10-year anniversary edition - features first chapter of Stef's new epic novel, Under a Pole Star.

Costa Award Winner and worldwide best seller.

A breathtaking tale of mystery, buried secrets and romance, set in 19th-century frontier Canada - for fans of The Snow Child and A Place Called Winter.

Canada, 1867. A young murder suspect flees across the snowy wilderness. Tracking him is what passes for the law in this frontier land: trappers, sheriffs, traders and the suspect's own mother, desperate to clear his name. As the party pushes further from civilisation, hidden purposes and old obsessions are revealed. One is seeking long-lost daughters, another a fortune in stolen furs; yet another is chasing rumours of a lost Native American culture. 

But where survival depends on cooperation, their fragile truce cannot afford to be broken nor their overriding purpose - to find justice for a murdered man - forgotten.  

The Tenderness of Wolves is a must-listen historical epic weaving adventure, suspense and humour into an exhilarating thriller, a panoramic romance and, ultimately, one of the best audiobooks of the last 10 years.

©2006 Stef Penney (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"Unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and rewarding." (Independent on Sunday)

"A tense and delicately written thriller." (Observer)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Loved it all except the ending

This story weaves together many lives in the telling of a complex tale. It plays out in the dramatic and evocative setting of northern Canada during the winter season. The year is 1867. The main occupation is trapping animals for their pelts. There is a wonderful blend of cultures as French, Scottish, and Indian men and women have major roles. While as individuals they are all out for self gain, there is still a strong sense of cooperation and desire to help each other during difficult times.

The character development and dialog are very compelling. The landscape and weather are both brooding presences in their own right. However, I thought the story ended abruptly, with several plot lines left open ended. Until that point, I would have given this heart pounding drama five stars. But the grand finale was far from complete and did not at all ring true to the main characters who have grown in both self understanding and real experience over the course of the narrative. I am surprised that an editor would allow the story to come to such an abrupt and incomplete finale.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brummers
  • Brummers
  • 06-24-19

Great characters and plot

Characters, story and setting all first class, an excellent read. The use of two narrators helps keep up with the plot.