1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Nightingale, Orphan Train, and Sarah’s Key comes a timeless novel about love and loss on an island in Maine at the onset of World War Two.

July 1939. War is on the horizon, but on Monk Island, Maine, life goes on as usual. As the daughter of a lobsterman, Ellie Ames’ future seems limited until a mysterious German couple comes off the ferry with their 19-year-old son. From the moment she meets Karl Brink, the two become inseparable, but not everyone approves because locals are suspicious of outsiders. Ellie ignores their scorn, however, and the secret she learns about Karl’s family makes her even more determined to be with him.

The magical summer ends when the Brinks suddenly have to go home. And although Karl promises to return in the fall, by then Europe is at war. Two years pass, and Ellie has all but given up hope when she gets a letter in the mail that will change her life forever.

The Storm Beyond the Tides is the story of the unlikely romance between a small-town girl and a German on the eve of the Second World War, and explores a frightening time in America’s past - when U-boats prowled the East Coast and put small coastal communities on the frontline of a global conflict.

©2019 Jonathan Cullen (P)2020 Jonathan Cullen

Critic Reviews

"Cullen delivers a novel that's fast-moving, fresh, and imbued with the best of old-fashioned storytelling, too. Let him take you back in time to that moment when the future of the world and every life in it hung in precarious balance.” (William Martin, New York Times best-selling author of Cape Cod and Bound for Gold)

“Well-written and touching saga of life in Maine during the Second World War.” (Eoin Dempsey, best-selling author of Finding Rebecca and White Rose Black Forest)

What listeners say about The Storm Beyond the Tides

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Detailed and Fascinating

Beautifully set tale of forbidden love on a remote Maine island during World War Two. Richly detailed and historically fascinating. The narration was excellent and brought to life all the characters and emotion of this heartfelt story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jon gledhill
  • jon gledhill
  • 12-14-20

The War story told from both sides, beautiful

A true love story told from the people who lived on both sides of the war, the Americans who thought that all the German refugees agreed with Hitler and the refugees who didn’t and were fighting to create a new life away from the Germany they once loved but which now despised them. Beautifully written and performed.


I have reviewed this as an independent person having received a free copy courtesy of Audiobookboom