The Storm

A Novel
Narrated by: Vikas Adam, Soneela Nankani
Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary
4 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning 50 years of Bangladeshi history. 

Time is running out for Shahryar. His work visa has expired, and he may soon be forced out of the United States and back to his home country of Bangladesh. Clinging to the remaining weeks he has left with his young American daughter, Shar reflects upon his family's history, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman, Jamir, and his wife, Honufa, prepare to face a storm of historic proportions. 

Spilling across tense, crucial moments in history, Jamir and Honufa's story intersects with other lives, like that of Ichiro, a Japanese pilot fighting in a war he does not understand; Claire, a British doctor in danger during the anticolonialist Burmese rebellions; and Rahim and Zahira, a privileged couple in Calcutta uprooted to East Pakistan by the Partition of India. 

With a narrative sweep mirroring the storm's devastating path - leading to the eye's calamitous landing - The Storm explores hope, loss, sacrifice, and the many ways in which families honor, betray, and ultimately love one another. 

©2018 Arif Anwar (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read it twice. Beautiful.

I just finished my second listen. A very complex story which is why I listened twice. There is a lengthy cast of characters, and all with south Asian names. I made notes while reading so I could keep things straight bc the story switches back and forth between 1946-1070-1993-2004 and between Calcutta, DC and Chittagong. I’m 79 so that might explain my difficulty. I loved the history I now have straight including the Hindu-Muslim disaster occurring during Partition. Beautiful character development and descriptions that have left images I won’t soon forget.

2 people found this helpful