The Spider's War

Narrated by: Pete Bradbury
Series: The Dagger and the Coin, Book 5
Length: 15 hrs and 36 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (1,066 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The epic conclusion to The Dagger and the Coin series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin.

Lord Regent Geder Palliako's great war has spilled across the world, nation after nation falling before the ancient priesthood and weapon of dragons. But even as conquest follows conquest, the final victory retreats before him like a mirage. Schism and revolt begin to erode the foundations of the empire, and the great conquest threatens to collapse into a permanent war of all against all.

In Carse, with armies on all borders, Cithrin bel Sarcour, Marcus Wester, and Clara Kalliam are faced with the impossible task of bringing a lasting peace to the world. Their tools: traitors high in the imperial army, the last survivor of the dragon empire, and a financial scheme that is either a revolution or the greatest fraud in the history of the world.

©2016 Daniel Abraham (P)2016 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    701
  • 4 Stars
    305
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    792
  • 4 Stars
    170
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    607
  • 4 Stars
    299
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Satisfying and Epic Conclusion

If you could sum up The Spider's War in three words, what would they be?

Satisfying Epic Conclusion

What other book might you compare The Spider's War to and why?

Game of Thrones a bit. Yet with the mixture of money and war that this series has is quite unique.

What does Pete Bradbury bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He is great. I listened to this book for 10 hours straight one Saturday. His characterizations are spot on. When I read my Kindle versions it is his voices I hear.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

***Spoilers*****
When Cithrin and Markus have a heart to heart towards the end. Such an honest and warm chapter.

Any additional comments?

This comes from my Amazon review. "When I read decent fantasy, it is almost like playing chess. I watch and observe. Sometimes I care, but they are just pieces to be moved around with little to no attachment. When I read great fantasy, I stress over what this, and that will mean. I worry about them as if they are real people. I care for them and wish them well. The Dagger and the Coin series is great fantasy! I am happy to report that this last book is everything I had hoped for!"

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A satisfying finish to a unique series

Daniel Abraham does not disappoint as he delivers an excellent finish to his epic fantasy series The Dagger and the Coin. The war has raged on for 4 books and it is finally time for it to end, one way or the other. The spider priests have led Antea to the brink of destruction and their ability to manipulate the truth has most everyone in the kingdom blind to that fact. As the armies of Antea's enemies close in seeking retribution, Cithrin devises a desperate plan to save the day but it may be too late to pull it off. This one is full of build up that leads to one final gambit with the future of the kingdom of Antea at stake and Daniel Abraham delivers a clever and satisfying conclusion when it all finally plays out.

For a series that started slowly this one built up nicely and eventually established itself as worthy of attention in a crowded genre. The myriad races of humanity presented here are not your standard ones and they bring a unique flavor to a detailed, complex world. Despite the fact that the majority of the story does wrap up nicely there is also an epilogue that offers up some intriguing options should Daniel Abraham decide that the series isn't actually over. Either way I can definitely recommend this series despite a confusing start with the first book. It all does pay off in the end.

Pete Bradbury provides the narration for all five audiobooks in the series and his delivery is excellent. He makes listening to the series a better option than reading it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid Conclusion to Fantastic Series

If you've read the 4 prior books, it's not a question of if, but when you'll read this one. Is it so great that it must be next in line, or can it wait until after you've read the other high priority books in your list? My answer: This book is a very solid entry in the series and good enough your list's pole position, but it's not so absolutely incredible that you must read it next. I apologize if that sounds a bit ambivalent, but I suppose I am. Daniel Abraham is probably in my top 5 list of fantasy authors, and definitely top 10, but he doesn't seem to deliver the same degree of overwhelming gravity at the culmination of his books -- and this series -- that's achieved by some of the other elite fantasy writers. It's a great book, don't get me wrong. In fact, I think Daniel Abraham is one of the best at writing deep characterization and plots while keeping things interesting. It's just that I'd hoped for a slightly larger pay off at the end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great ending to a fantastic series.

From the story, to the characters, to the unique unfolding of events, and the superb reader, this series is the best I've ever read. And I'm not a big fan of fantasy either, but the fantasy is wisely used. Second to fascinating individuals. Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Conclusion to an Amazing Series

Eloquence, Complexity, and Cleverness are great ways to describe these books. Abraham has created a universe unlike any other, made it seem real, relatable and almost tangible. The plot continues in all its excellence and ends very well. I can't say enough about how good The Dagger and The Coin is.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sad for it to end, 'twas a good ending, though

While there was no harrowing new revelations, the author still made it interesting to work through the completion of the saga. What with creating a whole slew of interesting and endearing characters during the telling of the story, each with their own mini-story arcs, it was enjoyable to find their arcs were mostly completed in a fitting way.

I'm definitely putting this saga on my must listen again list.

Both the writing and narration was superb throughout.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

yet another great installment

I don't love the ending. it feels unfinished. but aside from that it was as good as the others.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not quite

expected more after the first series, but where should he have gone with it? I don't know!! still all the great character development and sympathetic noon-villains I expected, just seemed a little forced with the wrapping up

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Freaking great

I apparently am a huge fan of this author. The expanse novels are excellent this series was excellent now onto another series that he wrote.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Awesome ending to the series. I really like how the apologue wrapped things up. I would definitely recommend this series to others.