Regular price: $34.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The epic conclusion to The Dagger and the Coin series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin.

Lord Regent Geder Palliako's great war has spilled across the world, nation after nation falling before the ancient priesthood and weapon of dragons. But even as conquest follows conquest, the final victory retreats before him like a mirage. Schism and revolt begin to erode the foundations of the empire, and the great conquest threatens to collapse into a permanent war of all against all.

In Carse, with armies on all borders, Cithrin bel Sarcour, Marcus Wester, and Clara Kalliam are faced with the impossible task of bringing a lasting peace to the world. Their tools: traitors high in the imperial army, the last survivor of the dragon empire, and a financial scheme that is either a revolution or the greatest fraud in the history of the world.

©2016 Daniel Abraham (P)2016 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    613
  • 4 Stars
    270
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    691
  • 4 Stars
    158
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    533
  • 4 Stars
    262
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Satisfying and Epic Conclusion

If you could sum up The Spider's War in three words, what would they be?

Satisfying Epic Conclusion

What other book might you compare The Spider's War to and why?

Game of Thrones a bit. Yet with the mixture of money and war that this series has is quite unique.

What does Pete Bradbury bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He is great. I listened to this book for 10 hours straight one Saturday. His characterizations are spot on. When I read my Kindle versions it is his voices I hear.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

***Spoilers*****
When Cithrin and Markus have a heart to heart towards the end. Such an honest and warm chapter.

Any additional comments?

This comes from my Amazon review. "When I read decent fantasy, it is almost like playing chess. I watch and observe. Sometimes I care, but they are just pieces to be moved around with little to no attachment. When I read great fantasy, I stress over what this, and that will mean. I worry about them as if they are real people. I care for them and wish them well. The Dagger and the Coin series is great fantasy! I am happy to report that this last book is everything I had hoped for!"

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lore
  • SAN JOSE, CA, United States
  • 11-14-17

A satisfying finish to a unique series

Daniel Abraham does not disappoint as he delivers an excellent finish to his epic fantasy series The Dagger and the Coin. The war has raged on for 4 books and it is finally time for it to end, one way or the other. The spider priests have led Antea to the brink of destruction and their ability to manipulate the truth has most everyone in the kingdom blind to that fact. As the armies of Antea's enemies close in seeking retribution, Cithrin devises a desperate plan to save the day but it may be too late to pull it off. This one is full of build up that leads to one final gambit with the future of the kingdom of Antea at stake and Daniel Abraham delivers a clever and satisfying conclusion when it all finally plays out.

For a series that started slowly this one built up nicely and eventually established itself as worthy of attention in a crowded genre. The myriad races of humanity presented here are not your standard ones and they bring a unique flavor to a detailed, complex world. Despite the fact that the majority of the story does wrap up nicely there is also an epilogue that offers up some intriguing options should Daniel Abraham decide that the series isn't actually over. Either way I can definitely recommend this series despite a confusing start with the first book. It all does pay off in the end.

Pete Bradbury provides the narration for all five audiobooks in the series and his delivery is excellent. He makes listening to the series a better option than reading it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sad for it to end, 'twas a good ending, though

While there was no harrowing new revelations, the author still made it interesting to work through the completion of the saga. What with creating a whole slew of interesting and endearing characters during the telling of the story, each with their own mini-story arcs, it was enjoyable to find their arcs were mostly completed in a fitting way.

I'm definitely putting this saga on my must listen again list.

Both the writing and narration was superb throughout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great ending to a fantastic series.

From the story, to the characters, to the unique unfolding of events, and the superb reader, this series is the best I've ever read. And I'm not a big fan of fantasy either, but the fantasy is wisely used. Second to fascinating individuals. Highly recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Conclusion to an Amazing Series

Eloquence, Complexity, and Cleverness are great ways to describe these books. Abraham has created a universe unlike any other, made it seem real, relatable and almost tangible. The plot continues in all its excellence and ends very well. I can't say enough about how good The Dagger and The Coin is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bravo!

Audible provides such a great service, and listening to a series such as this one brings back the pleasure of listening to great stories or plays in past mediums, now modernized by the authors and audio presenters...Again, Bravo.....Gwen S.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Series

What a great series. Didn't think you could combine dragons and economics but Daniel did a great job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sucked me right in

And I was part of the gang. I loved this. The writing brings the characters alive immediately and the story teller did wonderful. Wish there were 5 more books. Will miss this storyline greatly. Thanks oodles.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An adventure with a believable cast

Characters with depth who all grow and change through the series really sell the story being told. Nothing feels like padding and recurring themes never felt like a crutch. The world was both magical and similar to ours. Any magic felt like it had proper limits and character was always more important than any magic or special skills. Characters you hated one chapter may have become loved later, even if you vowed otherwise. I even found myself feeling bad for one character who committed despicable actions. No one was simply a parody or one dimensional character.

I loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best I’ve listened too. Don’t not do this one

Wow. Very few stories wrap up so satisfying as this. Kudos to the author. Enough loose end to another full on saga. Thanks dude