Sample
  • The Silent Children

  • Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
  • By: Carol Wyer
  • Narrated by: Emma Newman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 52 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (275 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Silent Children  By  cover art

The Silent Children

By: Carol Wyer
Narrated by: Emma Newman
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this....

Years later a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. Then a woman is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her stepdaughter’s statement makes Robyn wonder: Are the two bodies are connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realizes she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbot and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Silent Children

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    169
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    152
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I've listened to most of Carol Wyer 's DI Robyn Carter audiobooks and have enjoyed them. This time, I was annoyed by repeated changes in tense and point of view. Plus, the monotonous narrator who lacks the ability or willingness to expressively differentiate the characters (except for the young child) added little. Everybody pretty much sounded the same, including men and women.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance