Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An unforgettable journey of two evacuee sisters during the Second World War - and their determination to stay together no matter what. 

London, 1942: Thirteen-year-old Nell and five-year-old Olive are being sent away from home to escape the devastation of the East End during the Blitz. Leaving behind their beloved mother and brothers, they don’t know if they will ever see them again. As the sisters adjust to their new life in a close-knit Welsh village, they gradually find hope in the friendships they make. And Nell kindles a special bond with fellow evacuee Jimmy, who makes her smile even at the hardest of times. But when little Olive’s safety is threatened, Nell makes a decision that will change their lives forever. They must run from danger and find their way home....

Together, through tears and laughter, the two sisters hold each other’s hands as they make an incredibly brave journey across war-torn England. Will they be reunited with the family they have missed for so many years? Or is there more heartache to come? 

A moving story of unconditional love, friendship and the fight for survival during a time of unimaginable change. This book is guaranteed to find a place in your heart. Perfect for fans of Orphan Train and The Girl With No Name.

©2017 Sandy Taylor (P)2017 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Wonderful

A lovely story with all elements, love of family, friends and neighbors. Each helping the other survive through the toughest of times. I highly recommend it.

Well read with perfect inflections.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love and loyalty win

This is the 2nd book by Sandy Taylor I have read. The audio quality of When We Danced at the End of the Pier was not as good. I was told that using enhanced audio would help. I changed my download to that and there was no problem The story is that of two sisters, five and thirteen who are evacuated to Wales during WWII. Their brother who is supposed to go with them refuses. Their mum and very new baby brother remain also in London. The two girls experience first welcome and love, and then a frightful billet with a nasty old woman and her disgusting son. They escape and travel around, always sticking together and supporting one another. One would think that the older is always looking out for her little sister, but little Olive is sweet, honest and loving. Sometimes it is she who has the bright ideas.

I loved the fact that these two stayed together through the whole war and triumphed in the end. We forget that thousands upon thousands of kids were separated from their families during the war in the U.K. For some it was the best thing which ever happened to them. For others it was a nightmare which never left them. This is not a profound story in many ways, but its gentleness and attention to detail made it a lovely read. The narrator was good, and could sound extremely young sometimes. Either she really is, or can just get into the characters. Her accents were good and she obviously liked the girls she was voicing. It's a lovely read for a dreary day. It will help restore your faith in people if you are feeling a bit jaded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good listen

Loved the story
Loved the narrates accent
Would like to listen to more of her stories

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

World War II story, but with a different emphasis

It was another World War II story, but it was neither based in Eastern Europe nor wasn't based in Israel or the US – or even in Germany. And it really wasn't a story about the war per se. The ending was a little bit too pat, and although happy ending was expected, there was a little bit too many unconventional meetings and reunions, but overall it was an enjoyable story and none of the characters were inked consistent or disappointing in their presentations. It did end in a pleasantly happy plane.
(posted on GoodReads)

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-20-18

Great story!!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I enjoyed the story and was able to understand the story, and i knew the area where she was talking about. (Eastbourne). I would recommend this book to anyone as it was such a great story.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Runaway Children?

The most memorable moment was when they went to seaview.

Have you listened to any of Alison Campbell’s other performances? How does this one compare?

No

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The story made me laugh because of the acting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Idadown
  • 03-30-18

Could not put this down the story was so novel

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes I would so they could enjoy it too.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The eldest girl who ran away with her little sister.

Have you listened to any of Alison Campbell’s other performances? How does this one compare?

No

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • martin
  • 02-21-18

A Must listen too.

Best so far from sandy Taylor.
Beautifully narrated by Alison Campbell.
A must listen too.