Your audiobook is waiting…

The Rule of Fear

Narrated by: Paul Panting
Length: 14 hrs and 58 mins
3 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The new novel by Luke Delaney, ex-Met detective and author of the terrifyingly authentic DI Sean Corrigan series. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Jack King is a sergeant on the Met's promotional fast-track. Tasked with catching whoever is preying on children on a notorious estate, he and his small team take on the challenge with gusto, determined to find the culprit and clean up the estate - gaining glory for themselves in the process.

But King soon finds himself in over his head: the local residents won't play ball, his superiors want results yesterday and he's refusing to admit that he's suffering from PTSD after attending a particularly traumatic crime scene. As the pressures combine, King finds himself on a downward spiral that will have devastating consequences.

©2016 Luke Delaney (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Luke Delaney: "A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it." ( Daily Mail)
"A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective." ( The Times)
"An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London...scary authenticity." ( The Sun)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for avidreader
  • avidreader
  • 08-09-16

unexpected ending

I enjoyed this story and the plot line was unusual. However, I did not enjoy the degree of swearing included and, even though this may be how they speak on the streets, it is not what I want to hear so much, hence the 4 stars. That said, it was not the usual cop story regurgitated so worth a try. I thought the narrator was good and added the different characterisations in a believable way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for clare stewart
  • clare stewart
  • 09-19-16

The rule of fear

I really didn't think this was anywhere near as good as the other series written by the same author. It was about 7 hrs too long of a really longwinded drawn out far fetched storyline. It was rubbish!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa
  • Lisa
  • 08-31-16

Repetitive

Rarely do I not finish a book but this was just violence without substance. Abandoned 3/4 in

1 of 1 people found this review helpful