Sample
  • The Ringmaster's Daughter

  • A Beautiful and Heartbreaking World War 2 Love Story
  • By: Carly Schabowski
  • Narrated by: Joe Leat
  • Length: 10 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (58 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Ringmaster's Daughter  By  cover art

The Ringmaster's Daughter

By: Carly Schabowski
Narrated by: Joe Leat
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

Paris, 1940. The city of lights has gone dark.

Twenty-year-old Michel Bonnet lives on the edge of the law, finding work where he can breaking in horses on the outskirts of Paris. But when the Nazis invade, Michel takes refuge as a stowaway on a rickety train bound for the rural South of France. It’s a journey that will change his life forever.

The train is property of Le Cirque Neumann - a travelling circus owned by the troubled and irritable showman Werner Neumann. Neumann offers Michel a job caring for the company’s horses - a lucky break, but with an unusual condition attached. Michel must keep to himself and never speak of what he sees behind the glittering curtain of the big top.

But as Michel finds himself pulled into the strange and wondrous world of the great spectacular, it becomes more difficult to keep his promise. Why does the man with the performing monkey never speak and the sword swallower turn his face away? Who are the silent, shadowy figures who flit like moths between the wagons when the sun is down? It’s clear that Neumann is keeping his performers hidden away...but why? And how can Michel win the love of the beautiful and exotic trapeze artist Freida - the graceful, green-eyed star of Neuman’s spectacular - when he’s been forbidden to even meet her gaze?

An emotional and uplifting wartime novel - perfect for fans of Water for Elephants, The Nightingale, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

©2020 Bookouture (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Ringmaster's Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Ringmaster's Daughter by Cary Schabowski

Very good. So very sad how everything was hard for so many. Just wanting to make sure for themselves and family. The ending is a cliffhanger. Thank-you.