Regular price: $15.48

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A book of science like no other about a scientist like no other.

This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the 16th century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics.

That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style and, in the manner of the modernists, embodies in its very form its theories about the world. The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for fans of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

©2017 Michael Brooks (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kay
  • 02-09-18

Great way to make it make sense

Narrator was awesome. Finally felt I was getting a handle on the big questions. And really enjoyed the history woven into the science. Great listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • dmaxi
  • 02-06-18

Didn't enjoy reader's breathy reading style

Excellent story/conceit. Wonderful introduction to Quantum mechanics as well as the historical progression of science. Reader's style was way too breathy and detracted from my enjoyment.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Readaholic
  • 01-12-19

Chocolate-coated Quantum Physics - Yum!

Briliantly entertaining confection (or is it?) that makes a moderately deep dive into quantum mechanics totally digestible and entertaining, while creating its own bow-wave of uncertainty as to whether this is science fiction or true science friction.

Jerome Cardano is right up there with William Smith (The Map That Changed the World, father of geology), Newton and Einstein for quantum conceptual leaps that forever changed our perception of reality.

Read it and your world will change, not least because of Michael Brooks taking the concept of super position to one its possible 'logical' conclusions.