Sample
  • The Prisoner of Paradise

  • Painted Souls, Book 1
  • By: Rob Samborn
  • Narrated by: Zac Aleman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
The Prisoner of Paradise  By  cover art

The Prisoner of Paradise

By: Rob Samborn
Narrated by: Zac Aleman
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.49

Buy for $21.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

A riveting thriller ignites with a time-spanning love story. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Diana Gabaldon, Neil Gaiman or David Mitchell.

A 400-year-old murder. A disembodied whisper: "Amore mio." My love.

Nick and Julia O'Connor's dream trip to Venice collapses when a haunting voice reaches out to Nick from Tintoretto's Paradise, the world's largest oil painting.

Though Julia worries her husband suffers from a delusion, Nick is adamant the voice belongs to a woman from the 16th century—his soul mate from a previous life. He discovers a religious order that has developed a method of extracting people's souls, which they imprison in Paradise. Over the centuries, they've judged thousands of souls and sentenced them to eternal purgatory.

As infatuation with the past clouds his commitment to a present-day wife, Nick must right an age-old wrong—destroy the painting and liberate his soul mate. But freeing her would allow all the souls to be reborn.

The order will never let that happen.

©2021 Rob Samborn (P)2022 Tantor

What listeners say about The Prisoner of Paradise

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow wow wow!

This book is SO good! Action, mystery, romance, art, history. It's all packed in but never feels overbearing. It's an amazing story told by an equally incredible narrator! How the narrator was able to do so many voices and accents is beyond me. With the storyline over two centuries it's like you get two books for the price of one. This book would make an awesome show or movie. I felt like I was listening to one. Netflix, Amazon, HBO, Apple TV, take note!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!