Regular price: $23.07

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When Matt Helm is dispatched to Los Angeles to investigate the shooting of an agent, it wasn't just an assignment - it was personal.

To get the answers he wants means run-ins with two-bit hoods, a trio of beautiful women, a bunch of drug traffickers, and his old friend Mr. Soo, whose government has ideas about polluting America to death.

©2017 Donald Hamilton (P)2017 Blackstone Audio, Inc. and Skyboat Media, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is the beginning of better

I’ve always loved the Matt Helm series. As I recall most of the paperbacks were about the same length until this point when they started getting more involved and interesting. I look forward to getting the rest of the series on audio.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Matthew
  • LOS ANGELES, CA, United States
  • 08-07-18

Another great Matt Helm adventure!

The Matt Helm series is pretty consistently great, but it does have highs and lows within that consistency. The Poisoners is one of the good ones, for sure, though not among the very best. I wouldn't recommend starting with this one simply because I would recommend listening to this series in order, as characters do tend to return and die off, and events from earlier books are sometimes referenced. For those who might know the character only from the Dean Martin movies, this is not really that Matt Helm. The Helm of the books is totally serious, and the books themselves are brutal and hard-boiled. Fans of Jack Reacher or Adam Hall's Quiller would definitely enjoy Helm.

I loved seeing Matt Helm in Los Angeles (a city he doesn't enjoy), before he moves south to more familiar territory in Mexico. The (returning) villain's plot is a good one, and there's a good twist on what we think it is in the final moments. The new characters are all well-drawn, and I expect (and hope) to see a few of the ones who survived return.

Once again, Stefan Rudnicki does a truly stellar job giving voice to Matt Helm. He's perfect for the first-person narration, and has the character's competence and droll humor down pat. Eve if you've read these books before, I recommend listening to the audio series for what Rudnicki brings to the character. I wish these audiobooks came out more often, but I'm glad that they're still at least rolling out ever six months or so. Please finish the series, Audible! If you released all the rest at once, I would buy them all and tear through them--then start again.