The Perfect Girlfriend

Narrated by: Anna Friel
Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
3.6 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.31

Buy for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You've never heard a love story as twisted as this.

The must-listen thriller of 2018.... Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window, Anatomy of a Scandal, and TThe Girl Before.

Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.

Juliette loves Nate.

She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.

They are meant to be. The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing.

Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.

She is the perfect girlfriend. And she'll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.

True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain....

©2018 Karen Hamilton (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Brilliant and terrifying." (Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle)
"So addictive it should come with a warning." (Alice Feeney, author of Sometimes I Lie)
"One of the best twisted narrators I've ever read." (C.J. Tudor, author of The Chalk Man)

What listeners say about The Perfect Girlfriend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The voice!!

I couldn't get past chapter 5 because of the narrator's voice and nasal sounds. Sad to say it ruined the book for me..

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lucy hollingshead
  • lucy hollingshead
  • 03-16-18

Narrators voice ruins the audibook!

The storyline is quite enjoyable but the narrator keeps making these awful nasal sounds that are so irritating I had to stop listening!

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lassieduff
  • lassieduff
  • 03-16-18

Not sure

On the whole, I quite enjoyed this but the narration is dire. Hated listening to all the ‘mouth noises ‘ coming from Anna Friel. Plus long gaps between words. I will give a wide berth to any books read by Ms Friel

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Saffy
  • Saffy
  • 03-15-18

Let down by poor narration

I was so looking forward to listening to this book which had been well reviewed pre publication. However it is very difficult to give a fair review of the book as it is so badly let down by the appalling narration. There are many pauses, the narration is slow and dragged out and Anna Friel constantly swallows and slurps. Disappointing !

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gambling_man
  • gambling_man
  • 03-11-18

couldn't listen

can't tell if Anna friel had a cold or wasn't interested but along with the sighing smacking of lips and other noises was impossible to tolerate

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A Reader
  • A Reader
  • 03-01-18

Distracted by the Narration.

Would you try another book written by Karen Hamilton or narrated by Anna Friel?

By Karen Hamilton, yes.

Read by Anna Friel, probably not.

Any additional comments?

I think this was a good story, but Anna’s constant swallowing was extremely distracting. She left long gaps in between words, for no apparent reason. I was expecting better, but I just couldn’t cope with hearing her frequent swallowing.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maggie Kiely
  • Maggie Kiely
  • 05-12-18

Dire Narrative

This has been totally destroyed by the narrative by Anna Friel who sounds like she is eating swallowing the whole time. I may try it as a physical book. Will return to Audible.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicola O
  • Nicola O
  • 05-03-18

read the reviews!

I never leave reviews however usually do read them. I didn't with this book to my regret. The story itself is good but the narrator is awful sounds like she is eating and drinking throughout. SO off putting!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for nicola cousins
  • nicola cousins
  • 04-24-18

Awful narration

This book is totally spoiled by the terrible narrator, it sounds as though she’s eating the whole way through, constant swallowing noises and strange pauses make this very unpleasant to listen to. The story itself is good but I highly recommend reading this rather than listening to it. I am very disappointed in this as potentially could be great, i found it pretty much unlistenable too

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for griff
  • griff
  • 04-14-18

Anna Friel absolutely ruins it!

What would have made The Perfect Girlfriend better?

I was distracted from a basically sound story by Anna Friel's simply dreadful narration. She mis-pronounced words and she sounded as though she had a cold throughout. Friel left pauses between words in sentences that just shouldn't have been there and I was really put off by her constant swallowing noises and pronunciation. I couldn't wait to get to the end for all the wrong reasons. Whoever decided to use Friel as narrator has done the author Karen Hamilton a huge disservice. I would honestly avoid any other book read by Friel. Her voice was awful!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynne Lloyd-Williams
  • Lynne Lloyd-Williams
  • 03-25-18

terrible long slow boring am

slow repetitive and the narrator sounded like she was drinking and eating throughout and not in parts where she was drinking or eating. Hard going did not enjoy at all.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jay Lathwood
  • Jay Lathwood
  • 04-22-18

Cringeworthy Narration

The story was actually quite mediocre but what made it truly awful was Anna Friel’s narration with the constant wet swallowing and lip smacking. It made me feel nauseous. Her phrasing was poor as was her pronunciation of certain words. Just dreadful!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joz1963
  • joz1963
  • 04-14-18

"Read it" she said, "you'll love it" she said

I did not. I was driving across the Nullabor and thought this would help the time pass quicker. It did not. My friend said the narrator's voice was annoying at first but would fit the profile at some point. It did not.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Madeline Kerr
  • Madeline Kerr
  • 09-01-18

Narrators mouth noises off putting

Gripping storyline but the noises the narrators mouth makes after every sentence was so off putting I had to have volume on slow so I could drown them out. That aside... persevered and great overall story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-10-18

narrator hard to understand

narrator mumbles her way spoiling an otherwise good story. hard to understand at times and breathes loudly in between words at inappropriate spots. disappointing

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dafhne
  • Dafhne
  • 07-12-18

starts of strong... but doesnt follow through

The story had a lot of promise but many "twists" were predictable and weak ending .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SK
  • SK
  • 06-01-20

Story okay, narrator not!

The story wasn’t bad but the constant wet lip smacking & swallowing by the narrator made me want to scream at her in frustration to shut up!!! Makes me wonder if authors listen to the stories before unleashing on the ears of listeners?! It can really ruin the listening experience. This has put me off buying any books narrated by Anna Friel.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion M.
  • Marion M.
  • 12-02-19

I really enjoyed this book

Excellent I really enjoyed this book! The story line was good and lead up the only thing I was a little disappointed with the ending as it all ended so quickly with no follow through! It would be nice to have 1 more chapter to hear the happily ever after!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daniel
  • Daniel
  • 05-07-19

Worth a read, pretty compelling story.

This is a very easy listen and it was hard to stop once you start. I don't get any of the issues with the narrator that some people did. There were a few bits where she slightly miss-spoke but it just added to it really. Great easy listen which is just what i needed. The ending didn't do the story justice unless it's setting up a second book but it was fine. It seemed to rush through it and could have been another hour of the story about what happened next.