Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times best-seller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.

Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty's new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.

Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

©2015 Jeanne Birdsall (P)2015 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"The warmth and compassion of the Penderwick family comes through in every page of this slice-of-life novel, healing emotional bruises and reassuring readers that most problems can be overcome." ( Publishers Weekly)
"...chock full of all the qualities fans love (humor, heart, and the honest exploration of emotions... [t]he Penderwicks have a strong bench, so, happily, expect more." (Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    297
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    262
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    246
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Siblings in Sync

Great narration! Story took its time to start, but the refreshing children and their humor made for a touching listen filled with warmth (if such a contradiction of senses can exist). Good old fashioned sensibilities make this story exceptional for family reading.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Snow White is dead

This book and the whole series is wonderful! The characters are wonderful the setting sounds gorgeous and the emotions are heartbreaking and joyous to listen to!! A wonderful glori

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Series

I love this series for my kids..we listened to all of them and I can only hope for more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • krol
  • berlin, Germany
  • 04-23-17

Penderwicks growing up

Would you consider the audio edition of The Penderwicks in Spring to be better than the print version?

I haven't read the printed version so I cannot say

What other book might you compare The Penderwicks in Spring to and why?

It's similar to the other penderwick books of course.
Also a lot like the "and then there were four" I don't remember the author...

What about Susan Denaker’s performance did you like?

She has read all of the penderwicks and I always found that she reads each sister in a specific and very fitting way

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I cried most of the time! But I also re-listened to it more that 12 times already! :)

Any additional comments?

This was a hard one. A lot of the first time I listened to the book I spend crying. This was unexpected as the other books are mostly happy stories about summer and girls growing up.
But here Batty faced what I hoped she would never have to face, and yet it was done wonderfully. It left me with hope for Skye and Jeffrey (who I just can't give up on!! Skye is my favourite character and she would benefit so much from being with Jeffrey! I hope it happens one day!), with a kind of happy contentment about Rosie and Jane and well Batty, my Batty don't I know how hard it was when you lost him?!
But also, since this book, Batty has stepped up and become my second favourite sister. She will go places! ;)
Then there is Lydia who I really hope will change until I meet her again.
And Ben who I think is awesome and a very good addition to the family. One of the best ever scenes is when he has breakfast with Dad in the kitchen!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love, love, love, love The Penderwicks!!!!!

I laughed, I teared up, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The narrator does a great job separating the character's voices. The Penderwicks series makes my heart happy. Can't wait for book #5!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

My son absolutely adored the story, characters and the pace. He wishes there were another book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too sad!

My children & I love the Penderwicks, but we were disappointed with this book. Too much focus on Batty, & too many sad things happened to her. Too little Rosalind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

our lunch time tradition

We loved it! The kids and I listened intently during lunch each day. Thank you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My kids and I loved it.

We all loved it. The storyline was great and it was well read. My kids are 7 and 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story!

Great story as well as great narrator! Its been fun! Sad to see the series end!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful