• The Outside Man

  • A Matt Drake Thriller, Book 2
  • By: Don Bentley
  • Narrated by: Jack Armstrong
  • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (306 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The fight for freedom has sent Matt Drake to some of the world's most dangerous spots. This time the war is coming to his front door.

Broad daylight on an Austin, Texas, street and DIA operative Matt Drake is fighting for his life against a highly trained team of assassins. Who are they? Why do they want him dead? How will he protect those closest to him?

The answers will take him into some of the most dangerous spots in the Middle East and will put him in the clutches of an old foe known simply as the Devil. It's a world of double crosses, with no boundaries between the guilty and the innocent. It will take all of Drake's wiles to get out alive.

©2021 Don Bentley (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"[D]evoted action fans, will be right at home. All can benefit from Drake's insider tips: Get military pepper spray if you can; the commercial stuff is a powder puff." (Booklist)

“Bentley adds brains to the traditional brawn of yesteryear in crafting a thinking man's shoot-'em-up that keeps us on the edge of our seat from beginning to end.” (The Providence Journal)

"[A]nother super-charged, action-packed adventure that’s tailor-made for fans of Mark Greaney and Brad Taylor.... Gritty, timely, and packed with nonstop, heart-thumping action, Don Bentley’s The Outside Man is a must-read for fans of propulsive, unputdownable thrillers." (The Real Book Spy)

What listeners say about The Outside Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    179
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story, but keeps you hoping he will live.

Great story however in the interest of full disclosure I know Don personally. I would stack this up next to the Jack Reacher books or Orphan X. Don is a great story teller and I totally enjoyed his view of the world through Matt's eyes. It is sometimes a little stressful to listen to. He has so much bad luck. But you generally know he will survive! Can't wait for book 3!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Great Book

I really liked the first one in this series from Don Bentley and this one did not disappoint. I love that Matt isn't super human but still a hero. The story is action packed and totally hooked me till the end. All the characters are engaging and have depth. Really looking forward to more Matt Drake adventures!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

...Bentley's Matt Drake series is really good!

Audiobook Review - Outside Man - Don Bentley
Matt Drake in Outside Man again finds himself in chaos as he is being hunted and is trying to avoid being killed and find his hunters and their leader. He’s a former Army Ranger ‘badass’ turn federal agent and knows how to handle himself and is well connected to people around the world who lend a hand when he needs them. I was excited for this book since finishing Don Bentley’s debut novel Without Sanction. I was a little worried that it wouldn’t live up to my expectations after Without Sanction’s success, but I was not in any way disappointed! From the opening sentence I was hooked and couldn’t put it down. Matt Drake and Frodo’s strong relationship again inspired me to read on. Their biracial friendship and Drake’s interracial marriage are key elements of the series that I personally can relate to. Again, Bentley’s first book was fantastic, and he certainly didn’t buckle under pressure to do it again. The action sequences in The Outside Man are professionally written, with expert weaponry knowledge and his characters and their development get you invested in a way only the good, experienced authors can in the espionage thriller genre. Hat tip to Bentley’s character development, especially the diversity aspect. You hate the bad guys as much as you like the good guys. And I have a special admiration for the Matt Drake character, and the humanity he displays while forging through a hectic and extremely dangerous lifestyle. The book opens with a bang and never lets up, page after page. But it’s the characters that make you continue through each chapter. You want Drake and his cohorts to succeed because the writing makes you care about the victims and despise the villains at the same time. Bentley writes with the amazing accuracy of an experienced warrior and probably one of the most realistic and relatable protagonists in the thriller genre. Without Sanction, was remarkable, but this one is even better! The Outside Man was a great follow-up to Without Sanction and narrator Jack Armstrong was outstanding!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read!

I really enjoyed the stories formation and when the action starts, it does not stop!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holy crap

Literally one of the best spy-type thriller books I’ve had the pleasure of listening to. Gripping, chilling, spine tingling. Amazing. I am nearly at a loss for words. Highly highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome story

These books are great and they definitely keep you listening. I love the narrator overall… But his secondary voices are so frustrating! Why does everybody except the main character sound like some kind of congested robot?! He has such a great voice and I do love listening… But if there was someway for him to make all of the other men besides the main character not sound so frustrating it sure would help to listen ;-).

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a awesome book

a awesome book keeps you right where you are and to finish it excitement, great characters, and great ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved the characters so much I had to stop

I was so inthralled with the characters that at times I had to stop because I was worried about what would happen next. However the performance was lacking and I can't explain why.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good story - continuation of his prior book and even better

This book was hard to stop listening to. It grabs you and holds you until the very end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not his best

Don Bentley’s premier novel was better. This one is just silly. Hoping the characters in his next offering are more realistic.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathyb
  • Kathyb
  • 05-25-22

Story drawn out a little excessively

Lots of unnecessary detail here - and the hero had more lives than my cat! Was probably a good 250 page novel that was stretched out further. Narrator was awful (sorry). Next book is read by The amazing Scott Brick so will look forward to that one. Hope the story is more believable. All that said, was an entertaining book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carl
  • Carl
  • 03-24-21

great sequel

Great second novel. engaging story. main character internal monologue is fantastic. couldn't stop listening near the end. waiting patiently for book 3