Regular price: $20.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

How far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the best-selling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go and The Ice Twins.

Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new best seller, she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit, and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything.

Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward 60-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own.

As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic south of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.

The Night Visitor is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation?

©2017 Lucy Atkins (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DartmoorDiva
  • 07-31-17

Excellent

I enjoyed this novel very much. Well written, well plotted, I felt the characters were very three dimensional. My only complaint was the narrator playing Olivia - a very irritating semi-gabbling way of talking. I found it very distracting, had the novel not been so good I would probably have given up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • 05-13-17

Ruined for me by Julia Franklin's narration!

This story is unusual and well written, the character's well drawn. I found the main protagonist, Olivia, self obsessed, shallow and generally unlikeable. I warmed to Vivian more. Unfortunately, the experience of listening was ruined by the narration, specifically, that of Julia Franklin. In the early chapters, she moved towards and away from the microphone quite a lot and this resulted in my being unable to set the volume at a good level. Worse, when she voiced any character sounding angry, or upset, and whenever she voiced a child, she became very high pitched. This had me leaping for the volume control and feeling like pulling out my own teeth. There really is no need for it to be read this way. Sadly, a narrator can make or break the experience of listening to an audiobook.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Miss P keenan
  • 04-08-18

Neither great nor terrible

I really struggled to finish this book as it dragged on quite a bit near the end. I am baffled as to what relevance the title has to the story. The "night visitor" never really features in it. Far too much information about beetles and other creepy crawlies. Reads a bit like a nature book at times. Overall I would not recommend either the author or narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kate
  • 02-06-18

Enjoyed the story, but felt the ending was very ab

Enjoyed the story, but felt the ending was very abruot. Even re listened a couple of times as thought I had somehow missed a chapter!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • the typist
  • 07-30-17

Good story marred by poor narration and audio

This novel has all my favourite ingredients: mystery, darkness, a literary feel and more than a few twists and turns. It should have been a five star read but for some reason it never really quite got there. I blame much of this on the dreadful, screeching narration by the actress who read Olivia but there was also an overarching feel that we'd been here before - with Notes on Scandal, which is a far superior piece of writing. That said, it was still an enjoyable (if predictable) read.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-14-18

Seems unfinished

Thoroughly enjoyed all the way to the.... I would say finish line but there wasn’t one. The author left so many unanswered questions that it seemed as though she just stopped for no reason.
Very frustrating ending!