The Mozart Conspiracy

A Thriller
Narrated by: Steven Crossley
Length: 11 hrs and 43 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (42 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A centuries-old mystery. An “accidental” death. A conspiracy that may end in murder. Former British Special Air Service officer Ben Hope is running for his life. Enlisted by Leigh Llewellyn—the beautiful, world-famous opera star and Ben’s first love—to investigate her brother, Oliver’s, mysterious death, Ben finds himself caught up in a puzzle dating back to the 1700s.

At the time of his death, Oliver was working on a new book about Mozart. Though the official report states that Oliver died in a tragic accident, the facts don’t add up. But as Ben and Leigh dig deeper, they find that Oliver’s research reveals that Mozart, a notable Freemason, may have been killed by a shadowy and powerful splinter group of the organization. The only proof lies in a missing letter, believed to have been written by Mozart himself. When Leigh and Ben receive a video documenting a ritual sacrifice performed by hooded men, they realize that the sect is still in existence today and will stop at nothing to keep its secrets.

From the dreaming spires of Oxford and Venice’s labyrinthine canals to the majes­tic architecture of Vienna, Ben and Leigh must race across Europe to uncover the truth behind the Mozart conspiracy before they become its next victims. In the tradition of Robert Ludlum and Dan Brown, Scott Mariani’s The Mozart Conspiracy is an electrify­ing thriller and the start of an exciting new series.

©2009 Scott Mariani (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

Critic Reviews

The Mozart Conspiracy is music to the minds of thriller fans. Now readers on both sides of the Atlantic can enjoy Scott Mariani's gift for international menace with a Continental flair.” (Thomas Greanias, author of The Promised War)
“James Bond meets Jason Bourne Meets The Da Vinci Code, in a tale as driven as a dark Mozart symphony—but Scott Mariani writes with a steely lightness that is all his own.” (Jennifer Lee Carrell, New York Times best-selling author of Interred With Their Bones)
The Mozart Conspiracy is an action-packed thriller that introduces a fine, new hero, retired British commando Benedict Hope, a former soldier who's tormented by regret. In a wild chase across Europe, Hope uses his violent talents to track down a nefarious cabal that secretly controls the destinies of nations. The novel is fast-paced and fun, and Hope is a hero you can't help but root for.” (Mark Alpert, author of Final Theory)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dumbest book I've ever read

If this was supposed to be anything like James Bond, Ian Fleming would be spinning in his grave. This book was awful. Most of the plot was predictable, but when it wasn't it was either stupid or angering. Often the author couldn't come up with ways to get his main characters into or out of situations, so he would just ignore the problem, use magic, and Ta-Da, the characters would magically end up where they needed to be.

Characters development was nonexistent, except for Ben being the aggressive alfa male, while Leigh was the naive woman needing to be saved (often).

The ending of the book...just ended, and ended on a bad note. I was so angry at the author, I vowed to never read one of his books again. This vow I intend to keep.

The performer of the book was pretty good; although, I would like to hear him read something better to rate his performances.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Silly, Exaggerated, Conspiracy Plot

I found the plot to be far too far fetched. One endless chase and crisis after another. Suitable for those who want to read Indiana Jones on steroids and suspend common sense and belief without the flying saucers.