• The Man Who Went Up in Smoke

  • A Martin Beck Mystery
  • By: Maj Sjöwall, Per Wahlöö
  • Narrated by: Tom Weiner
  • Length: 5 hrs and 34 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (257 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.96

Buy for $13.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

His holiday with his family has just begun, but a phone call sends Martin Beck packing off to Budapest, where a boorish journalist has vanished without a trace. With the aid of the coolly efficient local police, who do business while soaking at the public baths, Beck must troll about in the Eastern Europe underworld for a man nobody knows - while he is at the risk of vanishing along with his quarry.

The Man Who Went Up in Smoke gives us the dedicated Beck at his most engaging: indulging in the sumptuous Hungarian cuisine, longing for a decent cigarette, and evading a predatory nymphet, even as he pursues a case whose international boundaries grow with every new clue.

Crack another case with Martin Beck.
©1997 Random House, Inc. (P)2008 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about The Man Who Went Up in Smoke

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Minor, uneventful police procedural

Any additional comments?

Minor Swedish police procedural from 1969 about a journalist who disappears. Largely set in Hungary. Downbeat, uneventful but pleasant enough if you’re a fan of the genre. I wouldn't recommend it to any friends. Narration was excellent.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Martin Beck

The cynical view of Sweden, it's people and its politics is both amusing and entertaining. There is still enough caring and thought among the the committed cops of the homicide department to make this a fun listen.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

need a new translation ??

I listened to about 3/4 of this and finally gave up. A dull translation of a dated book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book, terrible performance

This exceptional book is impossible to listen to. The performance is terrible. The monotone reading and strangely inappropriate emphasis on words at the end of sentences drove me to distraction. What a shame!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

if you like Nordic noir

I came to the Beck novels from the TV adaptation. I find the narration and the storylines to be much more in-depth and interesting than I expected. In this one, Beck finds himself alone for 5 days in Hungary, and I found myself missing his coworkers quite a bit. The ending was a surprise and I am now hooked on the Martin Beck stories on Audible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Strong Entry in the Series

This is one of the oddest episodes of the Martin Beck series in that it focuses most clearly on Beck -- the pseudo-protagonist and namesake of convenience -- with the rest of the series' characters barely making an appearance, and Sweden itself disappearing into the distance as Beck travels to Budapest for his investigation.

Kollberg and the other members of the National Murder Squad barely factor into The Man Who Went Up In Smoke, and that is both sad and glad tidings for readers: sad because they are such an important part of most of the stories; glad because it is nice to focus on Martin Beck for a while and just linger on his detachment as he goes through the procedure of figuring out what happened to missing Swedish journalist, Alf Matsson.

It is also nice to see Budapest as a character, and for readers of Henning Mankell or China Mieville, the environs of Budapest will be familiar for completely different but no less fascinating reasons.

Probably the best part of listening to this book, however, is the silky gravel of Tom Weiner's voice. It absolutely IS the Martin Beck novels to me, and in a lesser chapter in the series, like The Man Who Went Up In Smoke, any of the cracks are puttied over by Weiner's delivery. I am guessing Weiner doesn't read the Swedish Language audios of this series, and I feel sad for native Swedes that he doesn't because his voice is a perfect match for the National Murder Squad and their decalogue.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than expected

I really enjoyed this book . The descriptions of characters was supurb. I reccomend this series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent series

I really enjoy the Martin Beck books. They can be a little slow or sparse at times but it seems to lend to the mood.

Being written and set in Sweden (usually) adds a unique flavor to the book for me as I have never been there.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My first Martin Beck

I thoroughly enjoyed my 1st Martin Beck police 🚔 procedural. By mistake I read the 2nd one first. I will probably read 📚 all 10 of them.
A journalist goes missing in Hungary and Martin Beck is sent to Hungary 🇭🇺 from Sweden 🇸🇪 and his family vacation to find him. Not an easy thing to do.
Audio recording.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I love the style of writing. You pictures yourself in Budapest. Narrator is great. Story is great.