• The Malta Exchange

  • Writer's Cut Edition: Cotton Malone, Book 14
  • By: Steve Berry
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick, Steve Berry
  • Length: 13 hrs and 31 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Malta Exchange  By  cover art

The Malta Exchange

By: Steve Berry
Narrated by: Scott Brick,Steve Berry
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This Writer's Cut edition of The Malta Exchange features fascinating behind-the-scenes commentary read by the author.   

A deadly race for the Vatican's oldest secret fuels New York Times best seller Steve Berry's latest international Cotton Malone thriller. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Sam Bourne and Scott Mariani.   

The pope is dead. Cardinals are beginning to arrive at the Vatican to select his replacement, but one has fled for Malta in search of a document that dates back to the fourth century and Constantine the Great.  

Former Justice Department operative Cotton Malone is in Italy, on the trail of legendary letters between Winston Churchill and Benito Mussolini that could rewrite history. But someone else is after the same letters, and when Malone obtains and then loses them, he's plunged into a hunt that draws the attention of the legendary Knights of Malta.  

The knights are the only warrior-monks to survive into modern times. Now they are a global humanitarian organisation, but within their ranks lurks the Secreti - an ancient sect intent on affecting the coming papal conclave. Malone races the rogue cardinal, the knights, the Secreti, and the clock to find what has been lost for centuries. Meanwhile, the election of the next pope hangs in the balance. 

©2019 Steve Berry (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Malta Exchange

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story but Author was disruptive.

I really enjoy this series and love the narration but wish I didn't have the disruption of the author. I didn't find that it enhanced my experience - it was just simply annoying.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Author really spoils the audio book.

Steve Berry is a very talented writer and a lot of research goes into the stories.
But its clear that he like to hear himself speak. Why waist the talent of Scott Brick if Steve Berry peaks interrupting .This really breaks the flow of the book every time that he chips in. Scott Brick gives as usual a brilliant narration.
Unfortunately for me I had already paid for the last three books,so I have to suffer through the constant interruptions
It will be great if Audile can give you the choice to put the interruptions off.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AB
  • AB
  • 05-18-19

Another great Malone adventure...

It's great to be reaquanted with Cotton Malone once again. Seems a long time since the last instalment. In typical Steve Berry fashion, The Malta Exchange is charged with the action and adventure, intrigue and suspense that is synonymous with the Cotton Malone series.
Steve Berry has a wonderful gift for weaving together historical fact and intriguing, mysterious fiction, and the outcome is just superb.
Wonderful to hear Steve Berry allude to a dedicated series for Luke Daniels. I look forward to that!
Great narration from Scott Brick once again.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Swithinbank
  • A. Swithinbank
  • 08-19-20

gripping!

loved it as always. looking forward to the next book. also finding the writers notes very informative

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mich
  • Mich
  • 05-08-19

Brilliantly written!! An Incredible Listen

This audiobook captured me from beginning to end. I listened in one go and loved every moment. It was also more exciting having been to Malta and loving the place, I could picture myself among the environment.

Definitely an enjoyable book and a “must listen”!! I would highly recommend.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-27-20

If you love Malta

If you love Malta, you will enjoy this book ... some great insights into the inner workings and history of the Knights of St John and the Vatican Conclave and a fun thriller storyline

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alan
  • Alan
  • 05-20-19

lenght

I found the explanations long winded and boring. skipping many paragraphs because of it. I have purchased another book by the author thou.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Asrteia
  • Asrteia
  • 03-17-19

Another great Cotton Malones read

Another good read from Steve Berry set on Malta. A mixture of history and fiction masterly woven together.