Your audiobook is waiting…

The Magnolia Sword

A Ballad of Mulan
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 9 hrs and 53 mins
Categories: Teens, Myths & Legends
5 out of 5 stars (25 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

China, AD 484.

A warrior in disguise.

All her life, Mulan has trained for one purpose: to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight. If she prevails, she can reunite a pair of priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier, and avenge her father, who was paralyzed in his own duel.

Then a messenger from the Emperor arrives, demanding that all families send one soldier to fight the Rouran invaders in the north. Mulan's father cannot go. Her brother is just a child. So she ties up her hair, takes up her sword, and joins the army as a man.

A war for a dynasty.

Thanks to her martial arts skills, Mulan is chosen for an elite team under the command of the princeling - the royal duke's son, who is also the handsomest man she’s ever seen. But the princeling has secrets of his own, which explode into Mulan's life and shake up everything she knows. As they cross the Great Wall to face the enemy beyond, Mulan and the princeling must find a way to unwind their past, unmask a traitor, and uncover the plans for the Rouran invasion...before it's too late.

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore - a thrilling, romantic, and sharp-edged novel that lives up to its beloved heroine.

©2019 Sherry Thomas (P)2019 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deep and insightful but pleasant read

The narration was lovely, with well done variation in voices and accurate pronunciation. The story itself tackled such topics as honor, service, family and cultural bias. topics which were handled tactfully, with a depth and insightfulness that was at once not heavy.

Most certainly, one of my favorite historical fiction pieces of the last decade.

the historical footnotes and afterward are also a delight!

In short, this retelling of Mulan, is the one I wish I had heard as a child.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorite books of all time!

This book is fantastic! The writing is beautifully done and paints a clear picture in your mind. The action sequences and sword fighting sequences are very well done. The story line is very interesting and moves along nicely. Mulan is officially my hero! Buy this book you will not regret it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating and OUTSTANDING!

Quick paced and thoroughly fascinating. Loved this story and the narration.

Very original.

Thanks Sherry!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

I’ve never watched the Disney version of Mulan, so I only had a passing acquaintance with the story, but I am a Sherry Thomas fan. She did not disappoint. I was enthralled!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful