adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Prince Gaborn, the Earth King, has defeated the forces arrayed against him each time before: the magical and human forces marshaled by Raj Ahten, who seeks immortality at any cost and has given up his humanity in trade; and the inhuman, innumerable, insectile hordes of the giant Reavers from under the Earth, whose unknowable motives are inimical to human life.

Now there must be final confrontations, both on the field of battle, with the supernatural creature that Raj Ahten has become, and underground, in the cavernous homeland of the Reavers, where the sorcerous One True Master who rules them all lies in wait—in the Lair of Bones. The survival of the human race on Earth is at stake.

Spend some more time among the Runelords.
©2003 David Farland (P)2010 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic Reviews

“The Runelords Saga comes to a gripping conclusion in David Farland’s The Lair of Bones…Farland’s imaginative use of magic and detailed world-building contribute to the impact…. Gaborn is a flawed but likable hero whom readers will be sorry to leave behind. Fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind will enjoy Farland’s Runelords.”( Romantic Times)
“David Farland’s Runelords books are among the best fantasies on the market today. Great characters, a fascinating concept, and some really nasty monsters make each novel a pleasure to read.” (Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times best-selling author of A Forest of Stars)
"The suspense is real, the action is nonstop, and the characterizations continue to convince. . . . [this is] a series that has put Farland on high-fantasy readers' maps." ( Booklist)

What listeners say about The Lair of Bones

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    291
  • 4 Stars
    147
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    279
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    252
  • 4 Stars
    116
  • 3 Stars
    62
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A very good ending to the series

My review for the whole series (including this book) is pretty much the same as i gave it for the last book which i am copying below. The great thing about this book is that it completes the series.

If you are looking for the 'fantastic' part in a fantasy, this is your book.

World is vivid, and it is serious where people with power held up to serious responsibilities. The magic system is unique, and story line moves at a fast pace. Characters are flushed out, and narrator does justice to them.

My only gripe is that this is a very serious book and does not stop for any light moments. Though, given the background and pace of the book, i am not surprised.

I highly recommend this series.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A nice finish

loved this series. a bit bloody, definatly not for kids, but a good story. Narration was good, I liked it and enjoyed Ray's voice and different characters.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fast paced epic adventure

I was pleasantly surprised by this series of books and would highly recommend them to anyone who is a fan of good fantasy. My only problem with the story is that it takes place in just over a week yet vast distances are traveled by armies. Other than that I was really swept away in this adventure and feel as though I know these characters very well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Satisfying

While there were some predictable parts to this there were also some surprises. Overall this is a fast paced book that keeps your attention until the end.

I do have to say that I was very tired of the narrator by the end. There are multiple spots where the book switches to another subplot and there not even a pause between sentences. I had to back up and really pay attention to catch the change.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Saga ends...and peace begins.

Gaborn's journey to becoming the Earth King comes to a dramatic and victorious end. He maintains his humanity even though he has caused the lose of life and innocent along the way. This audible edition is an enjoyable listen and is recommend if you enjoy epic fantasy and telling of a tales and myths.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great ending to a great series

This book wraps up the series perfectly. All the fast paced action that you would expect from the first three books, plus an epic ending. I can't wait for the 4 books in the second series to become available on audible.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

It’s Free and it’s awful

This is in my top ten worst books I’ve ever listen to, I regret listening to it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good conclusion of an arc

This book wraps up this arc. The three preceding books lead up to this book nicely. The climactic moments are the biggest yet in the series. The narration is great.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Should end the series here

Didn’t love the book. It was okay. For me, I’m ending the series here. The final book in the series is long overdue. This is a good ending point for the series. I loved the first book. But listening to this one, I found I would rather listen to almost anything else first. If you’ve started the series and like it, this is a good one to end with until/unless the final book ever gets written.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Here it is...

Here it comes. the moment every book lover dreads. An ending to a beautiful story. While this world continues to spin tales in another set of Runelords book, the stories of the many characters we've grown to love may be coming to an end.

I'll spoil nothing, but I was extremely emotional by the end. How wonderful for a story to not only grasp my mind, but my heart as well.

I look forward to the next book, and the next set.

I'd heap more praise up Ray Porter, but what else is there to say? He is amazing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tomas Petrén
  • Tomas Petrén
  • 06-09-20

Conclusion.

A good ending to the first Runelords saga, with a properly epic scope of large battles and underground quests. Far from the best fantasy I've listened too, but definitely worth my time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ryan
  • Ryan
  • 03-05-16

A satisfying conclusion!

An epic conclusion to Gaborns story which I very much enjoyed, it was full of action and some truly gripping moments. But above all it was the ending to a journey which I have thoroughly immersed myself in and found exciting and thrilling. Certain characters finally get there well deserved comeuppance which I found very satisfying. But it was the end for the journey and for many characters and I carnt help feeling I have lost some good friends but I'm looking forward to the next four books and the next chapters in this incredible world.