The Kicking the Bucket List

Length: 12 hrs and 6 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.85

Buy for $13.85

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Mum always knows best....

The stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee, sensitive and big-hearted; Rose, uptight and controlled; and Fleur, the reckless free spirit.

At the reading of their mother's will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with very tricky strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother's bucket list.

But one year doesn't seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris' bucket list was about so much more than money?

©2017 Cathy Hopkins (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Warm, wise and full of heart.... I absolutely loved this book." (Lucy Diamond, author of Summer at Shell Cottage)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Kicking the Bucket List

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mama C
  • Mama C
  • 07-06-17

Interesting, shame about the 'self-helpidness'

What did you like most about The Kicking the Bucket List?

Good story, well narrated and poignant

What did you like best about this story?

The characters were great and believable...

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I found it engaging, but as the story moved on I couldn't help wondering if it might be better on the self-help section. It's attention to detail in the loss and grieving process started to disengage my interest as a novel, but could easily see how it would be helpful to others.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for michele Charlton
  • michele Charlton
  • 06-29-17

fab u louse

loved it, didn't want it to end, it was funny and sad and up lifting

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann D
  • Ann D
  • 09-24-17

Intelligent chic lit!

I can’t bear standard chic lit, full of one cliche after another. I won’t consider any book with cupcakes or Italian sea shores on the cover. I took a chance on this though after a 5*, but particularly tough going book on domestic abuse. I needed something light before returning to my favourite crime fiction genre. This is a tale of mature women, sisters, forced together after their mother’s death. It was a good read/listen. I could have done without the excessive ‘love interest’, but even that was handled differently to the usual chic lit. All in all, recommended.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ShiriBiri
  • ShiriBiri
  • 07-23-17

Anyone with a complex relationship with their siblings will relate

Really beautifully narrated, and the story is very compelling. It describes very gently and beautifully a complex relationship between the three sisters in older age, and gently reminds us things aren't always what they seem in life. Truly heartwarming. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lucy
  • lucy
  • 04-26-17

Amazing

I really enjoyed this book. The story was mesmerising. Funny, poignant and absorbing. I laughed and cried frequently. Extremely impressed and highly recommended. One of those books that has affected me quite deeply and that I won't forget

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susanh
  • Susanh
  • 06-13-20

Loved this book

What a fabulous read. Some real laugh out loud moments. Beautifully observed relationships. I couldn’t put this down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jayne
  • Jayne
  • 07-14-19

family <3

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I chuckled, laughed out loud and smiled. I poked my bottom lip out, got teary and then cried. I gasped. this book made me 'feel' all the emotions. I loved the way it was told through the sisters perspective, although I wish there more from fleur and rose. I also really enjoyed the idea of 'the kicking the bucket list'. Iris was trying to do right for her daughters <3 By far the funniest moment was at fleurs apartment!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Griffiths
  • Sarah Griffiths
  • 06-10-19

absolutely stunning

I loved it. My first book by Cathy Hopkins and it didn't disappoint. The narrative was absolutely stunning and even though I didn't know what to expect I was completely satisfied by it. Prewarning...you may need to get the tissues out.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EMMA Q.
  • EMMA Q.
  • 06-07-19

Lovely book, thought provoking - Very enjoayable!

Really enjoyed this book, really good fun but with very important life issues/lessons....leaves you thinking about what's really important! Lovely book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 09-20-18

beautiful

I absolutely loved the way the story unfolded. sisters should never lose touch as the longer it goes on the harder it is to mend. I am so glad they got there in the end. just goes to show Mother knows best and more than you think.