Your audiobook is waiting…

The History of Jane Doe

Narrated by: Michael Crouch
Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A poignant, deeply funny coming-of-age story about first love, first loss, and the power of history to give life meaning. 

History buff Ray knows everything about the peculiar legends and lore of his rural Connecticut hometown. Burgerville's past is riddled with green cow sightings and human groundhogs, but the most interesting thing about the present is the new girl - we'll call her Jane Doe.  

Inscrutable, cool, and above all mysterious, Jane seems as determined to hide her past as Ray is to uncover it. As fascination turns to friendship and then to something more, Ray is certain he knows Jane's darkest, most painful secrets and Jane herself - from past to present. But when the unthinkable happens, Ray is forced to acknowledge that perhaps history can only tell us so much.  

Mixing humor with heartache, this is an unmissable coming-of-age story from an exciting new voice in YA.

©2018 Michael Belanger (P)2018 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"[An] impressive debut.... Suffused with quirky humor and equal parts life-affirming and heartbreaking, John Green fans will gobble this one up." (Kirkus, starred review)

"Readers looking for a moving, realistic portrayal of depression will appreciate this exceptional debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"A powerful debut with a story for fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven...guaranteed to tug at your heartstrings.” (BuzzFeed

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well worth the read

Excellent story. One caution to the young reader “Be sure to follow through to the end.” It’s worth the journey even though some parts can be challenging emotionally.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The History Of Jane Doe: A relatable heart-wrenching story about love, loss, wonder and discovery.

This book is a must read for anyone who has suffered mental illness or knows someone who has (and you probably do even if you might not realize it).

The History Of Jane Doe is like The Fault In Our Stars but relatable and as a teen, I found it a more realistic depiction of teen life.

Ray and Simon, along with Jane study the question of why things happened, happen, and are going to happen with a naturally fascinating sense of relaxed adventure. As things start to get more intense you will find yourself laughing crying and sympathizing or maybe even empathizing with these characters.

Take a trip written by Micheal Belanger and hosted by Micheal Crouch in the back of a high schooler’s van, feeling like your rocketing towards the stars and the ever-present moon.

P.S.
Mr. Clean is all-powerful, thank you to Mr. Belanger for pointing that out for the public to see.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful