The Hideaway

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The breathtaking new novel from Sunday Times best-selling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of The Missing Wife and What Happened That Night. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes. 

What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?

When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves - and with no way of getting the answers she so desperately needs.

A distraught Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and bountiful orange groves - along with Pep, the winemaker's handsome son - begin to soothe her broken heart, but only Juno herself can mend it.

Just when she begins to feel whole again another bombshell falls. Can Juno put the past behind her? And will she ever learn to trust herself again?

©2018 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"This Gone Girl - esque novel will have you gripped until the very end." (Look

"Escapist in every sense, this easy-to-read romance has a steely edge." (Sunday Mirror

"I read the book in one sitting as it was so enjoyable, full of romance and kept you riveted until the last page." (Woman's Way

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant escape for the mind

What a fabulous original story - I was transferred out of my daily stresses! I want more of this!!!
Thank you Sheila 🥰🙏🏼

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not the best

I was very disappointed with this book. Slow with not much of a story line. Had to force myself to finish it. Usually I love this author

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The Hideaway

I had been waiting for this book. The story lacks a lot. There is a cat as part of the story and she went on about the cat in so many places. Just phrases like she got the cat food to put in the bowl for it.
I am finally up to about three quarters of the way but skipped a bit. It is starting to get interesting now. The story will probably appeal to anyone who likes cats.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Strudwick
  • S. Strudwick
  • 09-21-19

Feel good book

If ever I want a feel good book, I always turn to Sheila O'Flanagan, especially if narrated by Aoife McMahon. Such a great combination. I have enjoyed every O'Flanagan book listened to so far, some more than others, but this was among the most enjoyable, and Aoife McMahons voice is just perfect.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for fruity
  • fruity
  • 09-01-19

As good as ever

I always love story's that heal a broken heart in the Mediterranean.
imagination is a marvellous thing!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kay
  • Kay
  • 07-04-19

nice easy story but not much to remember

just an ok easy summer read. think it will quite easily disappear. loved the narrative but not the Spanish!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda Emhar
  • Linda Emhar
  • 04-13-19

Fabulous!

I loved this story. I didn’t want it to end. Lovely escapism and totally absorbing

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Bridget Bateson
  • Mrs Bridget Bateson
  • 08-22-18

Performance

The book was read to quickly and was quite flat. Slowing the speed slurred the reading so the reading was too fast and expressionless

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-28-18

Good Holiday Read

Voice of narrator lovely. Quite a long book.. Empathetic characters and good story with a twist.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy A
  • Tracy A
  • 06-21-18

My favourite author

I love anything by Sheila O'Flanagan. I can't help but love her characters. It's not my favourite but it was still a lovely listen with a nice ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judith Lennon
  • Judith Lennon
  • 06-05-18

a great and easy read<br />

another great read.Sheila O'Flannigan at her best. good characters to keep you interested. well recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for laura
  • laura
  • 03-02-20

Easy, lovely listen. Loved the story

This was my first audio book, but have always loved Sheila O’Flanagan books. The narration was great and probably read better than I would of! Great easy listening story and very heartwarming. Can’t wait to listen to another

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire
  • Claire
  • 11-18-19

Kind of boring

This book never really captured my interest and I struggled to finish it. There's not really a strong plot and the ending relationship the main character ends up in is very far fetched. Didn't really like the narration and the narrator's voice was too old sounding for the character of Juno.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra C
  • Sandra C
  • 05-06-20

Another amazing story by Sheila O'Flanagan

I just did not want this book to end.
I think what I enjoyed most about the story, was that there was no dastardly bad guys. It was a moving story about a how Juno deals with her tragedy, the people she meets and connections she makes along the way. The gorgeous detailed descriptions of Spain had me Google-mapping and making plans for my next holiday.
Aoife McMahon is a wizard of narration. She has such a brilliant talent for differentiating between characters and is exceptional at different accents. She was the perfect narrator for this book.
I almost want to subtract a star from the rating because the book had the audacity to end!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-03-19

Loved it

Loved this book. It was such an easy, light hearted read but left me wanting more.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-02-19

Enjoyable

I enjoyed listening to this book. It was an "easy" not too heavy fun story. Something for when you're looking for a light feelgood story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for veno57
  • veno57
  • 06-15-19

Anything is possible

If you like Marion Keyes this is one you will enjoy as well. The narrator is very easy to listen to with the Irish lilt in her voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cass 66
  • Cass 66
  • 05-28-19

Absolutely Wonderful

Could not put this book down heartwarming lovely story never disappointed with Sheila O'Flannagan novels