adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The brand-new thriller from the best-selling author!

A mother who disappeared.... 
When Beth was 10 years old, her beautiful, wild mother Alice disappeared. Beth’s life since hasn’t always been easy, but now she’s settled, with a successful career, a loving family and a beautiful home. 

An unexpected visitor....
Then one day there’s a knock at the door. Alice has returned. Desperate to rebuild their relationship, Beth invites her mother to move in.

A life that comes crashing down....
At first, everything is wonderful. But then Beth’s friends start to drift away, strange things happen at home, and rumours about Beth begin to circle. Someone is out to destroy Beth’s newfound happiness. But who? And how far will they go?

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, C. L. Taylor and Lisa Jewell

©2021 Jackie Kabler (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

“Filled with suspense, intrigue and a cast of engaging characters, I devoured The Happy Family in two sittings. Fabulous!” (Lucy Clarke, author of The Castaways)

“This has all the ingredients of a classic psychological suspense – suspicion, secrets and shocking reveals. Another great read from Jackie Kabler!” (Sarah Linley, author of The Trip)

"Couldn't turn the pages fast enough! I don't often stay up all night reading, but Jackie did it to me again. Twisty with a killer finish!" (Tess Stimson, author of Stolen)

What listeners say about The Happy Family

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Em&Me
  • Em&Me
  • 07-08-21

Predictable and poorly executed.

Honestly, I don’t know which book the previous reviewers were listening to, but this is terrible.

The story is a mystery by numbers and the plot is so completely obvious. I stuck with it because I thought ‘no, it can’t be as obvious as that’ but it was. It is entirely predictable and fairly dull too.

The one saving grace of this book is the narrator, who battles through valiantly despite the nonsense they are expected to vocalise.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea Spencer
  • Andrea Spencer
  • 06-29-21

don't let this gem slip away

absolutly Brilliant. Has everything I want from a book. so many twists and turns. kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved the story, narrator was great. Highly recomend this one

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for helen carwright
  • helen carwright
  • 06-15-21

Amazing read

Enjoyed this so much, full of twists, I loved it. Highly recommended, Great from start to finish

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for andrea m spiller
  • andrea m spiller
  • 06-14-21

Brilliant Story

This book was so intriguing from the very beginning.
I did however work it out almost straight away but it didn't spoil it at all as there were other possibilities and I could have been wrong .
I am happy I purchased this book and enjoyed it very much .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 06-13-21

Just a fabulous story.

Just completed the 10+ hours of The Happy Family. Great writing by Jackie Kabler with lots of twists and turns. Helen Keeley is the excellent narrator for Audible.

Excellent value for money.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for april k.
  • april k.
  • 11-22-21

BAD

Awful narration. Story started off well. Had a good plot which steadily declined. Absolutely awful.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-18-21

No one is that gullible .

You can't feel sorry for this woman. The story is so silly I spent my time thinking that no one would really be that stupid . The under story was obvious too . I don't like writing a bad review but sometimes there is no choice .

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Isa
  • Isa
  • 11-18-21

poor listen

phew finally finished it!
listen to first hour and last 2.5 hours the rest of the book feels like a filler and is too repetitive same emotions felt time and time again by a cringy main character which does not evolve at all throughout the storyline.
I would not recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kristi
  • kristi
  • 11-16-21

good story bad narrator

liked the story, but the narrator was so over dramatic it was infuriating at times

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-08-21

Predictable…

Quite disappointed with this, I thought the storyline was pretty good but it was all too obvious from the start and it makes the lead character seem so ridiculously naïve. Spent most of the listen rolling my eyes!