Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner - aka Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show - reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama's death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There's no way that 200-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia, the people who wrote it couldn't agree on what it meant. What was the president's job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington, and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It's about time someone gave them hell and explained that Progressives can read, too.

©2017 Ed Asner (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice Into into American History

Nice chunky info - a glimpse into our history.....one sided.....? Perhaps. Good read by Ed Asner a truly talented actor/ activist/ humanitarian/ father. Mr Asner makes it worthwhile.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

History isn't always the way people think it is.

Hearing about how the Constitution was actually framed and the reasons the framers did what they did is a real eye-opener.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and Edifying

Some parts dragged (like Melville describing different whale blubbers), but spot on for the most part. And the snark was apropos after years of milk toast responses from pinky-raising Democrats.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yes!!!! Loved it.

Great kick ass read. Makes me proud to be an American. This kinda American!!! I do read a lot of history but I do not often have as much fun when reading history as I did while reading this historical account.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great historical context

altough it occasionally bounces around it provides great historical context and shows the hypocrisy in many a strict constructionist arguement.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable Learning, Enjoyable Reader

What a great book!! I learned new things, and enjoyed the author's performance, humour and snark. I recommend this book to anybody who cares about the US, about the Constitution, and about the "Constitutional Conservatives'" reframing of history.