adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Germany, 1939: Annaliese is a doctor’s wife, living in an elegant grey stone house with ivy creeping over the balcony. But when her husband is ordered to work at the Dachau labor camp, her ordinary life is turned upside down by the horrors of war. And Annaliese finds herself in grave danger when she dares to fight for love and freedom. 

America, 1989: Turning the pages of the newspaper, Annaliese gasps when she recognizes the face of a man she thought she’d never see again. It makes her heart skip a beat as a rush of wartime memories come back to her. As she reads on, she realizes the past is catching up with her. She must confront a decades-old secret - or risk losing everything.

Germany, 1942: Annaliese’s marriage is beginning to crumble. Her husband, Hans, has grown cold and secretive since starting his new job as a doctor at Dachau. When a tall, handsome Russian prisoner named Alexander is sent from the camp to work in their garden, lonely Annaliese finds herself drawn to him as they tend to the plants together. In snatched moments and broken whispers, Alexander tells her the truth about the shocking conditions at the camp. Horrified, Annaliese vows to do everything she can to save him.

But as they grow closer, their feelings for each other put them both in terrible danger. And when Annaliese falls pregnant, she has to make an impossible decision between protecting herself and saving the love of her life. Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-stopping, unforgettable tale of ordinary people fighting for survival in the darkest of times. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, and My Name Is Eva will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, tragic World War II novel.

Audiences love Debbie Rix:

"Incredibly heart-wrenching.... It’s just mind-blowing.... I adored this book from start to finish.... If I could give it 10 stars, I would." (Confessions of a Bookaholic)

"I was so gripped.... A beautifully written story that captivated my mind and heart.... A perfect historical fiction novel that fans of this genre are going to love." (By the Letter Book Reviews)

©2022 Debbie Rix (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The German Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous story

This book says it’s based on a true story. I have been unable to find any historical reference to the premise of this book. Yes, Dachau existed as well as doctors that did horrific things to innocent people during WW2. As for the rest of the story, completely predictable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Must Read

An absolutely beautiful war story from the perspective of a Nazi officer's wife, I was sad when it ended. A must read!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a good story.... but

While I enjoyed the story itself for the most part, I couldn't help but think they wanted us to almost sympathize with this "unwilling Nazi". I understand being afraid of retribution or punishment for not complying, but I doubt there is much anyone could do to get me to commit the acts that Hans participated in. Sorry, but he doesn't get a pass from me. It really is a sad and depressing story if you really think about it. Anna, Hans (not that I care much about his happiness), and Alexander all pretty much end up lonely and sort of sad. it is a good story in that, sometimes, in fact most times, your actions do not just have an effect on you. There is a ripple effect to every decision, especially the big ones.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Remembrance

This story brought about a remembrance of the atrocities that went on in the Nazi concentration camps in World War ll but from a different angle. I found it captivating, heartbreaking and yet the love story was passionate, heartwarming and forgiving.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Excellent view of Nazi cruelty and Impossible Love

I never write reviews but this audiobook is so enthralling, well written and plot driven Thai I have to tell the listeners that I could not stop
Listening to it. It is worth 20 credits. I will never forget it. Wonderful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Shallow characters

I’m very disappointed with this story. The main character is a woman who is unable to self-regulate her emotions enough to avoid putting the lives of people she cares about in danger. The other women in the story are equally as incompetent or more so. In this story women are feeble minded and ruled by their emotions. Men are generally rational and cold.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read!

Very Captivating! Great history mixed with romance, trivial times - overall very interesting! Worth the money!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Well….

Not nearly as good as The Italian Girls. The main character, Anna, is so naive and gullible. I nearly stopped, several times. Her belief that a man with Hans’s past was actually a good man disgusted me. Rix is a great story teller and obviously did a lot of research. My issue was the character. Just a very shallow woman.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-08-22

a book review for this book

amazing book .Best one I've listened to brilliant story and emotional. excellent would recommend to everyone

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christineb
  • Christineb
  • 01-25-22

An enjoyable novel

Firstly the narration was really good The storyline was good a bit of naivety in the main character I struggle to imagine she was so oblivious to events that her life was attached to I appreciate it was a story and view point Overall good

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-19-22

Utterly compelling.

How interesting to consider the predicament of an unwilling SS officer during the war. The effect of liberation upon the prisoners and the families of both prisoners and officials. So terrifying.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-19-22

Wow

This was a great story. Found it heart-warming and heartbreaking at the same time. Made you feel the pain of that period of time. Well worth a read.