Sample
  • The German Mother

  • By: Debbie Rix
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Lane
  • Length: 15 hrs and 27 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The German Mother  By  cover art

The German Mother

By: Debbie Rix
Narrated by: Stephanie Lane
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

A missing child. A mother’s heartbreaking journey.

Germany, 1941: I stroke the blonde curl away from my daughter’s face, and my heart swells. I never imagined having children, and I never thought I’d love someone this much. Clara is the most precious thing to me. I whisper to her that I will do everything I can to keep her safe.

Before the war began, I had everything–an attentive husband, three adorable children, and the perfect house. But all that changed in an instant.

My beautiful Clara, with her blue eyes and porcelain features, started having fits. I haven’t been able to sleep properly since they started, because I know children with illnesses like hers are being stolen away in the night.

I refuse to give my little girl up. She should be with her family. I can’t bear the thought of her being taken from me.

My husband, influenced by his connections high up in the Nazi Party, says we have to tell the truth and follow the rules. I beg him to help me protect her, but I don’t trust him. He’s changed so much from the man I once loved.

Then, I see a man in uniform outside my door. They’ve come for her.

My child is wrenched from our home, and I sink to the floor as she’s carried away.

But I vow to find her...no matter what it takes.

Inspired by true stories, this is a heart-wrenching novel about a mother's fighting for the survival of their children in the depths of World War II. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, and My Name Is Eva will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, tragic historical novel.

©2023 Debbie Rix (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.