Your audiobook is waiting…

The First Time Lauren Pailing Died

Narrated by: Chloe Massey
Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Lauren Pailing is born in the '60s and a child of the '70s.

She is 13 years old the first time she dies.

Lauren Pailing is a teenager in the '80s, becomes a Londoner in the '90s. And each time she dies, new lives begin for the people who loved her - while Lauren enters a brand-new life, too.

But in each of Lauren’s lives, a man called Peter Stanning disappears. And, in each of her lives, Lauren sets out to find him.

And so it is that every ending is also a beginning. And so it is that, with each new beginning, Peter Stanning inches closer to finally being found.... 

Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Maggie O’Farrell, The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is a book about loss, grief - and how, despite it not always feeling that way, every ending marks the start of something new.

©2019 Alyson Rudd (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A stylish time-slip story à la Sliding Doors." (Guardian)

"Stunning, moving and very clever." (Mark Lawson) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First Rate

This is an excellent novel. I'd expected just a good read, and an interesting development of the sliding doors theme. Ms Rudd gives us way more than that. She uses the concept to develop the characters well and present quite a moving story of loss and recovery. The narrative switches among three parallel plots involving mostly the same characters living different lives. You have to pay enough attention to spot which world you're in as each new segment begins, but that's easy. This book is very well structured, without seeming at all labored or contrived, and very well written. The synopsis on Audible is a bit misleading -- yes, one constant among all three settings is the unexplained disappearance of a peripheral character, but the protagonist doesn't pursue him. and the novel isn't about that. This novel is fully imagined, and very satisfying. I can't wait to read whatever Ms Rudd gives us next.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V. O'Regan
  • V. O'Regan
  • 07-14-19

A unique tale

This novel held me spellbound. Such an interesting premise that was well executed. I could not predict where it was going.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful