Your audiobook is waiting…

The Family Next Door

Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik
Length: 8 hrs and 53 mins
5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.

©2018 Sally Hepworth (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-19-18

Amazing!

Loved this... So many stories in one. Felt for all the characters and couldn't put it down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carole D'Costa
  • Carole D'Costa
  • 05-01-18

Brilliant. Funny. Sad

This story was really well written. I didn't want to stop listening. It was very heartwarming.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vanessa Woods
  • Vanessa Woods
  • 08-19-19

AWFUL NARRATION

Terrible narrator, slow story line,not good - apart from sending me to sleep every night.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julia
  • Julia
  • 03-08-19

Entertaining

A nice short and light read. Very reminiscent of books by Liane Moriarty but not as intricate. I enjoyed it but don't think that it'll stick with me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue
  • Sue
  • 06-30-18

Good Listen

I found it hard to remember which character was which, as they all are of same age range with very similar story lines, however I did enjoy getting to know them.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan  Painter
  • Megan Painter
  • 05-24-18

Good reveal

It took me a while to get into it and I kept getting Fran and Angie and their husbands mixed up (maybe the characters and their stories were too similar) but once the story took off and I started to get a sense of where it was going I really enjoyed it. I will look for more books by the same author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-13-18

Great listen

Loved this book, the narrator is really good! The only "bad" thing I can say is that sometimes the chapters are quite short and you feel like you're jumping from character to character alot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hayley
  • Hayley
  • 05-12-18

Really enjoyed

I found this book to be really likeable, the characters were well thought out and worked, and to be honest we all know someone who has some of the traits outlined, the twist was good and it wasn’t until quite late in the story I guessed it - would highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Campbell
  • A. Campbell
  • 05-09-18

Fantastic book!! Amazing story!!

I love Leanne Moriarty and I have been searching for authors like her and this is the first book I have come across that makes me feel like I found another contender. Beautiful!!