1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Emerald Comb  By  cover art

The Emerald Comb

By: Kathleen McGurl
Narrated by: Sophie Roberts,David Thorpe
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Some secrets are best left buried.... 

Researching her family tree had been little more than a hobby - until Katie stepped onto Kingsley House’s sprawling, ivy-strewn drive. The house may be crumbling today, but it was once the intimidatingly opulent residence of the St Clairs, Katie’s ancestors.

Arriving here 200 years later, emotion stirs in Katie: a strange nostalgia for a place she’s never seen before...and when Kingsley House comes up for sale, Katie is determined that her family must buy it.

Surrounded by the mysteries of the past, Katie’s pastime becomes a darker obsession, as she searches through history to trace her heritage. But she soon discovers that these walls house terrible secrets. And when forgotten stories and hidden betrayals come to light, the past seems more alive than Katie could ever have imagined.

Moving between the 21st and 19th centuries, The Emerald Comb is a hauntingly evocative novel, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. 

©2020 Kathleen McGurl (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Emerald Comb

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story but not exciting

This was an enjoyable story but just not up to par with Kathleen McGurl’s other stories like Girl from Ballymor or Secrets of the Chateau.
Narrators did a great job.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

felt unfinished

it felt as though the protagonist was right there with the truth but never got it. seemed unfair

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex M
  • Alex M
  • 11-05-22

An entertaining story

Good but not my favourite,it was not my type of storyline,it may be yours. AM.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-21-21

Another excellent novel by an excellent author.

I loved this book, easy but compulsive listening, beautifully narrated. It ended rather abruptly and took me by surprise, but no matter.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vivvie
  • Vivvie
  • 09-28-20

Great readers

I liked it that the reader changed according to whose perspective it was written.
The story itself was good, partly predictable and also a bit wooden when Bartholomew explained why the letter was written in third person rather than first and that Sometimes it was written from Agnes perspective. It sounded more like a as if the author wasn't sure how to build in Agnes point of view so this was an easy way out.
Nonetheless it wouldn't stop me from listening /reading because overall I enjoyed the book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 02-26-22

Horrible story.

Well writtem but an awful story. Could not finish the book to the end.