• The Elizas

  • A Novel
  • By: Sara Shepard
  • Narrated by: Jayme Mattler
  • Length: 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (198 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author of Pretty Little Liars Sara Shepard makes her mark on adult fiction with this Hitchcockian double narrative composed of lies, false memories, and a protagonist who must uncover the truth for survival.

When debut novelist Eliza Fontaine is found at the bottom of a hotel pool, her family at first assumes that it’s just another failed suicide attempt. But Eliza swears she was pushed, and her rescuer is the only witness.

Desperate to find out who attacked her, Eliza takes it upon herself to investigate. But as the publication date for her novel draws closer, Eliza finds more questions than answers. Like why are her editor, agent, and family mixing up events from her novel with events from her life? Her novel is completely fictional, isn’t it?

The deeper Eliza goes into her investigation while struggling with memory loss, the closer her life starts to resemble her novel, until the line between reality and fiction starts to blur and she can no longer tell where her protagonist’s life ends and hers begins.

Fans of Pretty Little Liars, S. J. Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep, and Ruth Ware’s The Woman in Cabin 10 will be drawn to the drama of feeling like no one is on your side, the high tension of not knowing who you can trust, the hair-raising truths hidden among lies, and a faceless, nameless presence controlling Eliza’s life from the shadows.

©2018 Sara Shepard (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about The Elizas

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    116
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Last Second Twist!

Really enjoyed this book. Found myself waffling between "she is cray cray" and "everyone else is crazy", which keeps me excited to read. At one point towards the end when things are starting to come together I thought nothing else was going to happen and there were no more twists - and I almost didn't finish the book. I'm glad I did because the best part and twist is at the very end!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CC
  • 04-23-18

Couldn’t stop listening!

From the first chapter -I was captivated. You are kept in suspense for all the whole book. I really enjoyed this book-not disappointed

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fabulous novel that entrigues you even after the

wonderful novel.by a exceptional author. narration very.well done. would definitely recommend it. bravo Sara Shephard

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

★★★★★

I've never identified with a fictional character as much as I identify with Eliza! Sara Shepard is one of my favourite authors, and now she's written a novel I can see myself in. Also, it's interesting and suspenseful, as every good story should be!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not for Me

I really struggled to finish this one. The main character was unrealistic. She seemed like an older lady at one moment and the next like a kid. Her life style was too forced. The story was extremely predictable. It was just boring. The story of the Dots (though I get were she was going with that) just seemed like filler words so she had enough pages to publish. It was like having to read the same story twice. I really wanted to like this book. But I can't say that I did.

As for narration, it's wasn't bad. But I think she couldn't feel the character enough to really figure out if she was a child or a middle aged woman. Not bad though.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it's was just okay

The book was just okay. Very predictable and not very exciting. I was hoping for something to surprise me at the end, but I was disappointed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Really good but not great

I loved first quarter of the book. I love the plot, the dual story, love the voice of the narrator.

But, about halfway through I stated to get bored. The story was just slow and not enough was happening. Not enough to keep me feeling gripped. It picked up again three quarters of the way through.

I did guess the crux what was going on very early on in the book, about a quarter of the way through. There were a couple more twists which were good.

With all of that said, I did like the book. Not gripping but interesting read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I love this book! Jayme is a wonderful reader, I've listened to this about 6 times! Wonderful story, if you liked Pretty Little Liars but are wanting something with more of an adult theme this is for you!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

The narration was very good the story was engaging and kept me guessing. Loved it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not So Much

I wanted to like this book, and kept waiting for the big twists and turns, but my imagination was way more exciting than the actual book. It had so much potential!!

1 person found this helpful