Your audiobook is waiting…

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker

Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Length: 9 hrs and 1 min
4 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

Regular price: $19.95

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"I will never forget the night I drowned...." 

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer....

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, everyday teenager. She argues with her mom, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can't escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer's murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming-of-age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars and Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale.

What fans are saying about Kerry Wilkinson:

"Wow this had me captivated! I could hardly put the book down.... OMG that ending!...stunning...I had to get my breath back at the end!" (Bonnie's Book Talk, five-star review)

"Another book to get excited about!...fast-paced, gripping and there are so many red herrings it was hard to keep up.... Another big thumbs up to Mr. Wilkinson!" (Stardust Book Reviews, five-star review)

©2018 Kerry Wilkinson (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CM
  • 08-21-18

Fantastic!

I love Kerry Wilkinson’s books and this was no exception beautifully written and narrated. A fantastic mystery / who done it with a twist !

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker

This novel borders on being a YA mystery, but, as a 45 year old, I still loved it, and could relate to the characters. I had the bad guy (or girl) figured out, but it's a solid mystery nonetheless. A hint of the supernatural added to the plot isn't unbelievable, either. I loved the main character, and the "am I dead?" plot is quite original and very well-written. Alison Campbell is a phenomenal narrator. Definitely recommend this one!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Helen
  • 01-06-19

Cracking story -narration not to my taste

I like Kerry Wilkinson’s Jessica Daniels books enormously but have finished them so gave this a try. The slightly supernatural story line isn’t my thing but it’s a cracking story. I guessed the twist early on.
For me, this was let down by the narration. The voice of a teenager was more like that of a pre-school child. Too sweet. I found myself distracted by it unfortunately.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Galadriel
  • 09-16-18

Grows on you....

To begin with, I wasn't at alll sure I would finish this one....it starts very slowly and the narrator, for me, took some getting used to as I was half expecting Kerry's usual sparky half sarky style. But this tale is nothing like the Detective Daniel books - it's a young girl's viewpoint and the narrator, Alison Campbell, turned out to be perfect for the job.
It is a mystery tale and I'm usually pretty good at guessing who the bad guy is but I didn't get this one - well, with no more certainty than the other players anyway!
Worth perservering with - even if it did take me four goes....!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful