adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Amazon charts best seller Pam Howes comes a heartbreaking and uplifting historical novel about a community pulling together in the shadows of war, and one young woman’s fight to make her mark on the world.

1952, Liverpool. The Second World War has cast a long shadow over Victory Street and who knows if the remaining families will ever fully recover?

In the face of hardship, Bella Harrison is determined to see the bright side. She is back recording songs with her singing trio The Bryant Sisters, and against all odds, Bella and her husband Bobby are finding ways to muddle through life as newlyweds whilst raising little Levi; Bella’s child with black American pilot Earl Franklin Junior.

Meanwhile Earl’s daughter Dianna is adjusting to her new life in Liverpool. Determined to forge her own path, she has her heart set on becoming a nurse. However Dianna soon discovers that the reality of nursing is long hours of gruelling work, performed under constant scrutiny from the dreaded Matron - who seems to take pleasure in making Dianna’s life miserable. When a handsome art student catches her eye, Dianna finds herself at the crossroads between ambition and love.

But just as the young women settle into their new lives, the close-knit community of Victory Street is rocked once more. Can the daughters of Victory Street face their challenges together, and seize a chance at happiness now that it is finally within reach?

A totally unforgettable, heart-warming historical novel, packed with family secrets, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Diney Costeloe, and Nancy Revell.

©2022 Pam Howes (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"I was hooked.... I wiped tears away tears.... If you love a really good wartime saga, then this is definitely the book for you!" (Stardust Book Reviews)

"I absolutely loved this book.... A heartbreaking story but one that gets you so engaged in it you cannot put it down.... Will keep you reading and enjoying right to the very last page...and will desperately want more." (Vicki, I Love Reading UK)

What listeners say about The Daughters of Victory Street

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.