Your audiobook is waiting…

The Daughter's Tale

A Novel
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (187 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Daughter’s Tale is immersive, both heartbreaking and redemptive, steeped in harrowing historical events and heroic acts of compassion that will have you reflecting on the best and worst the human heart has to offer. Fans of WWII history and book clubs will find depth and skillful storytelling here, but on a deeper level, searing questions about life, love, and the choices we make in the most impossible of circumstances.” (Lisa Wingate, bestselling author of Before We Were Yours)

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable family saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.

BERLIN, 1939. The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the south of France, where the widow of an old friend of her husband’s has agreed to take her in. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is interrupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice.

NEW YORK, 2015. Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Despite Elise’s best efforts to stave off her past, seven decades of secrets begin to unravel.

Based on true events, The Daughter’s Tale chronicles one of the most harrowing atrocities perpetrated by the Nazis during the war. Heartbreaking and immersive, it is a beautifully crafted family saga of love, survival, and redemption.

©2019 Armando Lucas Correa (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and heartbreaking

Beautifully written and so sad. The kind of book that leaves you thinking about how different the fate of the daughters could have been if different choices were made at different times. And it shows how a mother’s love of her children is like nothing else.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best

This book was amazing. The characters were so richly drawn. The description of all the locations made me feel as though I was in each place. The author has done an excellent job. Her language is beautiful .. so well written. If you like historical fiction or just a great book, this is for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating , and Complex

Keep your mind on this & don't stop listening. It is not easy to follow in an AUDIO BOOK.. It makes me wish I had the printed version. It has two stories going at once. , so stay alert and it does have a story that is difficult to think of happening.
The detailed descriptions of each scene were wonderful. You could feel the hunger pains, you could hear the pain in the reader's voice.

Casandra Campbell is a wonderful reader, but it seems she had a difficult time keeping the voices sorted out..or just my non ability to understand a French or German accent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Easy, if painful historical fiction.

Well written. i learned, once again, how the evil Nazi regime was the epitome of satanic infiltration in this time period.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Depressing

The narrator is excellent. The prose is very good. The story is one sad tale after the next. Every bad thing that happens in WWII stories is retold once again. Every event is pitiful. The story starts with the main character dying of a heart attack and then reviews her sad life. It ends with her death. I think I have read too many WWII books!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very good but sad. Bittersweet

I’ve read many ww2 historical fiction books and this is one of
the best. Still I would love to talk to author with several questions I can’t resolve myself.
Wrightinspectionservice@yahoo.com
One of the best endings. Stay tuned for epilogue also

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Book!

Best read in 2019! Highly recommend this book, especially for those who are interested in the WWII time frame!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Book

This book was so well written, I loved every minute of it. I loved the way it tied in with his book The German Girl. I learned so much about German and French history in a great story .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

Wow! I can’t imagine any of our youths of today being able to go through any of what this girl (s) went through. People had it so bad that they over spoiled their kids and those people over spoiled their kids and now today the kids feel entitled to receive anything and everything. We forgot to teach balance, teach go get our fish for dinner tonight or go get some eggs this morning because we got to into city life. It’s ruined how society’s character is as a whole. No more hard work, no more taking on responsibility for siblings or caring for people, neighbors or elders. They really had it tough. So very sad about the moms and kids getting blown up in that village back then. For no good reason either!
I see so much of this stuff happening today and if we don’t put a stop to it, it’s going to get worse. Worse than 70 yrs ago!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truth in Fiction

the author weaves the story of one family from Germany into several true events, bringing an unpredictable conclusion. Cassandra Campbell is one of my favorite narrators, her skills in mixing dialrcts is amazing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful