The Darwin Affair

A Novel
By: Tim Mason
Narrated by: Derek Perkins
Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (305 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.99

Buy for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

London, June 1860: When an assassination attempt is made on Queen Victoria, and a petty thief is gruesomely murdered moments later - and only a block away - Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field quickly surmises that these crimes are connected to an even more sinister plot. Was Victoria really the assassin's target? Are those closest to the Crown hiding something? And who is this shadowy figure witnesses describe as having lifeless, coal-black eyes? Soon, Field's investigation exposes a shocking conspiracy in which the publication of Charles Darwin's On the Origin of Species sets off a string of murders, arson, kidnapping, and the pursuit of a diabolical madman named the Chorister. As the investigation takes Field from the dangerous alleyways of London to the hallowed halls of Oxford, the list of possible conspirators grows as the body count escalates. And as he edges closer to the Chorister, he uncovers dark secrets that were meant to remain forever hidden.

With ingenuity, intelligence, and wit, debut novelist Tim Mason has created a powerfully entertaining thriller. For fans of Caleb Carr and Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Darwin Affair is a rousing tale that both Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would relish and envy.

©2019 Tim Mason (P)2019 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

More from the same

What listeners say about The Darwin Affair

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    158
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    188
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not for the faint-hearted!

... just when you think the story is done... like a forest fire, it flares up again and takes you off into another, almost separate, direction. So many bodies, so much blood, so many body parts, so many evil people. I stayed with it... had to know how it ended ... but this author’ s off my list!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A pre script book!

Villain out of central casting, requisitely “impossible to kill” Larger than life protagonist Cast of quirky, physically defined type characters A good helping of gossipy historical detail Lotsa action Makes for a very, very fun and entertaining read as long as you don’t stop to think about any of this too long I’d buy his next one

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dickensian “Jack the Ripper”

The premise of this book is promising. The Origin of the Species is such a classic and I thought that this would be a delightful mystery associated with Darwin. It is very dark and sadistic, just too sick for me. Characters were well drawn and engaging, traveling with Queen Victoria’s entourage was most informative, the narration was terrific.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic fiction

Gruesome, gory, and glorious. Well written, masterfully done in a screen play ready way. If you like thriller/mystery/historical fiction and you get down on amazingly talented and oft times darks authors such as: Horrowitz, Abdul-Jabar, Adler-Olson, Robbotham, Cotterill, Steven King.....etc. you will devour this book. Needed to finish this fantastic fiction in one day!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Gruesome

This book has not a single redeeming feature. The story line is macabre though the setting is not ‘living dead’ . It is one horrid murder after another.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Uneven

In my opinion, the book's first half was slow and a bit confusing. There were too many under developed characters. However, once Field returned to the police force, the story improved to a great extent. I'm glad I continued with it to the end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

HORROR

Disturbing. Like TV show, Criminal Minds. What kind of mind imagines things? Could not continue beyond chapter 11.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too Much Villain

I enjoyed this book, but the villain was over the top. For me, there was no mystery, and I prefer a mystery where I can't tell who did the deed until the end. It kept my interest because of the discussion of the political and sociological ramifications of Darwin's work.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A new Victorian thriller

A captivating mystery in which the principles of Charles Darwin and a Charles Dicken’s character are central to the story. The story follows many of the historical events, places, and evolutional theories discussed during the reign of Queen Victoria. Prince Albert’s, philosophies are a central part in the mystery and action of the story. Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field and his officers are on the hunt for a serial killer. Their efforts are thwart by the shortsightedness of the police officials and the cunning of an intelligent and resourceful adversary. Philosophy, church doctrine, and the theory of evolution are all entwined in this exciting story. It becomes a little slow and the murders can be gruesome. I found the story very satisfying and it held my interest.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept my interest first whole Audbook I finished

Enjoyed this very book very much and liked the narrator as well. Thank you 😀

11 people found this helpful