• The Couple

  • An Unputdownable Psychological Thriller with a Breathtaking Twist
  • By: Sarah Mitchell
  • Narrated by: Katie Villa
  • Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
  • 3.6 out of 5 stars (106 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Couple  By  cover art

The Couple

By: Sarah Mitchell
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Whatever you think you know…you’re wrong.

Following a whirlwind four-month romance, lawyer Claire and hotel entrepreneur Angus are engaged to be married. Happy and successful, and ready to start their new life together, Claire and Angus find what they believe to be the perfect home.

But when Claire meets Mark, the man selling them the house, he looks eerily familiar. He looks exactly like the man she loved five years ago, the man she couldn’t bear to lose.

As Claire finds herself irresistibly drawn to Mark and crosses lines she never thought she’d cross, Angus’ behaviour becomes increasingly suspicious. Soon Claire doesn’t know whether she can trust Mark, Angus…or even herself.

The Couple is a psychological thriller with a stunning twist, perfect for fans of The Girl Before, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

"I got so pulled into The Couple I read it in one go – great twist!" (Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange)

©2019 Sarah Mitchell (P)2019 Bookouture

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen everywhere

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Reach your reading goals

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for $0.00 $14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

What listeners say about The Couple

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not great but ok

The main character, Claire, is incredibly dumb, painfully so. Her decisions and actions are eventually explained but o still found it hard to relate with based on her character development and the way she breaks down situations and reasons in her head is arduously elementary. She has this strange attraction to this guy, Mark that she and her fiancé purchase a house from. The guy is completely sketchy from the start but she’s so “blinded” with his resemblance to an ex-BF she does anything he asks and he takes total advantage of her. She lets so many things slide in her present life and focuses on things she shouldn’t. Again, we eventually learn why but I still wasn’t that impressed. I stayed interested in the story but also remained consistently annoyed by her personality. I don’t think I’d outright recommend this book but I wouldn’t prevent someone who was about to click the purchase button since it held my interest until the end — I can see why some might find this story more compelling than I did.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story