Your audiobook is waiting…

The Cornish Retribution

Narrated by: Melanie Crawley
Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
3 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)
Regular price: $18.54
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

After a tragic car accident, Samantha is left widowed and bereft. Her husband, Adam, was everything to her. At least the home they shared together in Cornwall provides her with some security. Or does it?

Upon returning from a school reunion where Sam met her old friend, Penny, and an old flame, Dan, she discovers that Adam had invested money unwisely, and she is now penniless. Dan comes up with a way in which she can keep the house, and he’s willing to invest. Dan gets his way...but at what price? And why is he so keen to help, despite his wife’s reservations?

Amanda James is the best-selling author of Another Mother, Rip Current and The Calico Cat. The Cornish Retribution is a chilling thriller that will appeal to fans of Cara Hunter, Louise Jensen and Greer Hendricks.

©2018 Amanda James (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ashley
  • Mckinney, TX, United States
  • 02-14-19

Just started and wow..

This writer is my favorite. Reason being I feel like I'm there. They characters and the dialogue is so real. I'm enjoying the heck out of this as I've had a long dry spell of mediocre books in this genre. Way too many. I'm so thrilled to have a wonderful book to read I'm savoring it to mage it last.
The blurb describes the premise accurately but what you dont get is the personality of each character. This is a straight forward linear story told from first person perspective which is my favorite.
I absolutely love the mother daughter dynamic and love the personality of Sam, the protagonist.
There's humor, lots of humor I identify with.
Keep writing Ms James ,I need your refreshing style.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • J WN1
  • 03-13-19

Good but could have been so much more

This was an enjoyable story which could have included more plot twists. It’s difficult to say more really without giving the story away; other characters could have been linked to the murderer. I felt it was quite a simplistic storyline.