• The Cornish Midwife

  • The Cornish Midwife, Book 1
  • By: Jo Bartlett
  • Narrated by: Emma Powell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 9 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (1,019 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
The Cornish Midwife  By  cover art

The Cornish Midwife

By: Jo Bartlett
Narrated by: Emma Powell
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.22

Buy for $14.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Welcome to the beautiful seaside town of Port Agnes. 

A fresh start....

Midwife Ella Mehenick left the small Cornish town of Port Agnes for London and never looked back. But when her seemingly perfect life crashes down around her, there’s only one place she can heal her battered heart - the place she once called home. 

A new arrival....

Ella is quickly welcomed into the small community midwife team and loves her new job caring for mums and their precious babies - it’s what she does best! But being back also means facing ex-flame Dan Ferguson...the first man to break her heart. 

A second chance at love?

Dan is still as gorgeous as ever, but he’s never forgiven Ella for leaving. And now she’s back it’s clear that there is unfinished business between them. As Ella settles into her new/old life, she can’t stop the memories of how she once loved Dan so completely - and maybe never stopped.

Maybe coming home to Cornwall is Ella's chance to love again....

Meet the Cornish midwives of Port Agnes - where community, friendship and love are always delivered. An uplifting and escapist story, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

This book was previously published as Return to Port Agnes.

©2021 Jo Bartlett (P)2021 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"I love second chance stories. I love returning home stories. So a book combining both is an absolute winner for me. The Cornish Midwife is simply gorgeous. Stunning setting, wonderful characters and oozing with warmth. A triumph from Jo Bartlett and a cracking start to what promises to be a fabulous series." (Jessica Redland)

"Perfectly written and set in the beating heart of a community, this story is a wonderful slice of Cornish escapism." (Helen J. Rolfe)

What listeners say about The Cornish Midwife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    591
  • 4 Stars
    253
  • 3 Stars
    143
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    687
  • 4 Stars
    196
  • 3 Stars
    67
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    539
  • 4 Stars
    227
  • 3 Stars
    149
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely Ready

I loved this book. It's well written and performed. The story is sweet and clean. No crude language or smutty sex scenes.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Just so-so

It’s a fairly nice story just not too interesting or exciting. I skipped ahead in several parts that either I didn’t care for or didn’t care enough about to listen to it all. The characters are nice. If you’re pro homosexual relationships you will appreciate the author’s inclusion of a male homosexual relationship and a lesbian relationship as part of her story. If you don’t care for that I wouldn’t bother reading this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very nice story

Enjoyed the story although it took a bit longer than needed for the main character to come to her senses. Loved the setting and narration. I’ve moved on to book 2 in the series & will probably listen to all of the books.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Chatter

Told in a confidential, gossipy tone, the story spared no details of small town life, but shared more than a little bit of the emotional side of midwifery. Collegiate, hormonal, gushing, and exceedingly wholesome, I finished the book, fairly irritated with the heroine.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely storyline

Thoroughly enjoyed the storyline - despite the heartache inbetween ! Sad it is finished

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cute story!

The story was really cute! Predictable, but still entertaining. I often times like a more predictable story as a stress free, fun, easy read. This was that. Have a cup of tea and enjoy!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Delightfully Predictable

This story is a great big warm hug and I loved it. The narrator is fantastic.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Refreshing!!

So nice to listen to a book without all dirty talk and descriptions. Jo Bartlett wrote a charming book and Emma Powell’s narration was really nice.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

G rated, loved hearing about Cornwall

Beautifully read. Loved the characters and the dialect. It reminded me of a Hallmark movie.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listening

Relaxing read, interesting story, lovely setting in Cornwall. Characters are quite realistic. All in all enjoyable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!