Your audiobook is waiting…

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
4 out of 5 stars (82 ratings)
Regular price: $28.00
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family, and forgiveness.” (The Washington Post)

One of the most anticipated reads of 2019 from Vogue, Vanity Fair, Washington Post, Buzzfeed, Essence, Bustle, HelloGiggles, and Cosmo!

The Mothers meets An American Marriage” (HelloGiggles) in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you.

The Butler family has had their share of trials - as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian can attest - but nothing prepared them for the literal trial that will upend their lives. Althea, the eldest sister and substitute matriarch, is a force to be reckoned with, and her younger sisters have alternately appreciated and chafed at her strong will. They are as stunned as the rest of the small community when she and her husband, Proctor, are arrested, and in a heartbeat, the family goes from one of the most respected in town to utter disgrace. The worst part is not even her sisters are sure exactly what happened.

As Althea awaits her fate, Lillian and Viola must come together in the house they grew up in to care for their sister’s teenage daughters. What unfolds is a stunning portrait of the heart and core of an American family in a story that is as pause-resisting as it is important. 

Cast of Narrators:

January LaVoy as Viola

Adenrele Ojo as Althea

Bahni Turpin as Lillian

Dominic Hoffman as Proctor

©2019 Anissa Gray (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

An Indie Next pick

Library Reads pick

Barnes & Noble Discover Pick!  

"The inequities of the justice system, the fortitude of women of color, and the bittersweet struggle to connect are rendered ravishly in this bighearted novel." (Oprah Magazine

“[An] intimate family saga sure to appeal to fans of Tayari Jones and Celeste Ng.” (Entertainment Weekly)

“A poetically written story that guides us through a deep darkness toward a faint whisper of light seeping from beneath a closet door. A light that shows how love and forgiveness can come from unexpected places and triumph over more than we ever imagine.” (Delia Owens, New York Times best-selling author of Where the Crawdads Sing

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It!

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls is an absorbing and compassionate account of a family deep in crisis. It's beautifully written, rich with emotional insight, and has characters so engaging and fully developed that they all but walk off the page. The narration is superb. I couldn't stop listening and didn't want it to end. This is one of the best books I've ever "read".

Highly recommend.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh.....just ok

could have been better, just ok. felt as though something was missing, like the story wasn't complete.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Captivating story

Captivating story! Had me wondering where it was going. I had to go back and listen to a number of chapters to get the full ramifications of events. Very interesting enjoyed it

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Based on the reviews on different blogs and book sites I expected this one to blow me away. It didn't. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out why I was supposed to feel sympathy for Kim and not enough time knowing the sisters.

Also at some point it began to feel like the author was just throwing every type of trauma at the characters that she could just to see how many would fit.

I wanted to enjoy this one but it just wasn't a good fit for me.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

SLOW

I so struggled to finish this book. the story moved way to slow for me.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

review <br />

The story was hard to understand from the beginning I almost stopped it. in the middle I was able to see it was about abuse passed from Parents and the cycle of abuse manifested in all of them in some form.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

All Star Narrating Cast

Wow, I can’t believe all four of these narrators worked on a book together! Phenomenal performance.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

unfulfilling

I kept waiting for it to get interesting once it finally started to it was over.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy weekend listening

This is an interesting stories with well-developed characters. Everything about them isn't simply laid out, but they are all very distinct with their own challenges. At times the book seemed spread a bit too thin with so many characters dealing with their own issues. I guess it is a good sign when readers want to know more about characters. Things seem a bit rushed toward the end, and it feels like Baby Vi is ignored in the narrative, but what is there is good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read; Starts more conversations than it answers

Gray is clearly a talented writer with an interest in character development. This book came highly recommended from friends and I can see why. I ultimately enjoyed it and truly appreciated the multiple subject areas broached within the storyline of the characters. I also appreciated the Biblical allusions and symbolic refrains around water. It served to underscore a soothing back channel to the various challenged and strained character conflicts that unfold the entire story.
I’d recommend to anyone who enjoys fiction that serves as social commentary or anyone who enjoys narratives with multiple points of view.
The greatest criticism I had was that for all the elements previously stated that Gray clearly did well in producing, I almost felt there was more there than could be fully addressed. The “happy ending” side of me longed for greater resolution to at least a few of the deeper conflicts. While I believe Gray’s intent was to not overwrite and allow the reader some area for speculation & so I respect how this novel is truly a great book club selection and conversation piece. I selfishly wanted either a little more focus for resolution purposes or clarity in character motivation that preempted much of the conflict.
I always have a healthy respect though for authors who provide a good story and don’t do exactly what I want and I still like it anyway. I see it as a good challenge.
However if you’re looking for a cookie cutter novel that wraps up nicely in the end with redemption and a traditional plot line- this may not be the book for you.
Again- good read and well done in both story and narration.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Robyn
  • 03-03-19

The redeeming power of love

Even in families, love can heal deep wounds. Time can be traversed without further injury, even hard times. How much courage dies it take to love enough for this to happen? This book explores how much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful