The Book of V.

A Novel
Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. 

Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington DC But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life - along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all.

Anna Solomon's The Book of V. is a contemporary investigation into the lives of women across centuries. 

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

©2020 Anna Solomon (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

More from the same

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.