Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Book of V.  By  cover art

The Book of V.

By: Anna Solomon
Narrated by: Dara Rosenberg, Eva Kaminsky, Gabra Zackman
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.99

Buy for $14.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

An AudioFile Earphones Award-winning production

For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day.

Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington DC But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life - along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all.

In Anna Solomon's The Book of V., these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women’s lives have and have not changed over thousands of years.

An NPR Best Book of the Year - 2020
Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year - 2020

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

©2020 Anna Solomon (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Book of V.

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    15
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars